Library Guides: Fayette Student Guide: Using Your Library

Getting Started

Borrowing Privileges

As a student, your PSU Student ID serves as your library card! You will be automatically registered in the library system once you are enrolled as a student. Undergraduate students can checkout up to 200 items at a time! As a borrower, you are responsible for any items on your account. For more information on borrowing privileges, visit: https://libraries.psu.edu/services/borrow-renew/borrowing-privileges

**Checkout Loan Periods**
Item	Loan Period
Books	Semester
DVDs, CDs, Audiobooks	7 days
Course Reserves	4 hours
Laptops	7 days
Cameras	7 days
Anatomy Models	4 hours
ViewMaster Headsets	7 days
Sunlamps	7 days

Study Spaces

We offer a variety of study spaces to help meet the needs of all students!

The upstairs is set up for quiet study. There are student computers and printers available, as well as individual study carrels for more privacy while working.
The downstairs is set up for group work with social distancing in place. There are study rooms, a collaborative workstation, individual carrels, student computers, and a second printer!

Several of our spaces can be reserved ahead of time! Reserve a space here.

Course Reserves

Select course materials are available to check out through our course reserve service! If requested by your instructor, these materials can be accessed by visiting the Circulation Desk in the Library. These items can be checked out for a 4-hour period. Not sure if your course material is available? Visit the Fayette Library Course List Page to see the list of courses on reserve for the semester!

Please Note: Course reserves are typically a 4-hour loan period. Due to the University Libraries' 96 hour quarantine policy, this loan period has been extended to 24 hours.

One Button Studio

Located in Study Room #2, the One Button Studio is a student's one-stop-shop for making video content. Whether for class, a club, or a personal project, students can easily create content with the push of a single button. Use a flash drive or your Kaltura account to save the finished product. Reservations of Study Room #2 - One Button Studio are recommended but not required.

IMEX Lab & Viewing Pods

For use with virtual reality (VR) headsets, the viewing pods are located in the IMEX Lab at the front right corner of the Library's upper level. Viewing pods should be reserved ahead of time by the student, and the student should then follow-up with Library staff for headset options and availability. Whether for class or recreational purposes, these viewing pods are a safe way for your VR experience. Visit our Space Availability-Reserve a Study Room page to reserve a viewing pod today.

Remote Resources

Remote Resources
This link provides quick access to many important resources while learning remotely. Explore eBooks, Ask a Librarian, and even talk with subject experts!
E-Books at Penn State
E-books from a variety of academic publishers are available through the library. Some may require your PSU Access ID. Use this link to browse the collection.
Student News Readership Program
News resources freely available to all Penn State students, staff, and faculty. Follow the steps to create a free account. The five news sources they offer: The New York Times; Wall Street Journal; Daily Collegian; and PennLive

Video Streaming Databases

The University Libraries provide thousands of streaming videos from several different distributors. Each video database can be explored by clicking on the link below.

Swank Motion Pictures, Inc. This link opens in a new window
Swank Motion Pictures distributes over 18,000 movies from major Hollywood studios, which are available online to Penn State instructors for classroom teaching, via a University Libraries license with Swank Motion Pictures.
Over 18,000 movies from major Hollywood studios are available online to Penn State instructors for classroom teaching, via a University Libraries license with Swank Motion Pictures. These titles do not appear in the library catalog.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Supplied by Alexander Street Press, this database is an extensive interdisciplinary video library that streams thousands of documentaries and training films across many disciplines, with strengths in education, business, history, science, film and media studies, and counseling, among others.
"Academic Video Online has more than 66,000 titles spanning a wide range of subjects including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street."
Kanopy Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Kanopy distributes online documentaries from a variety of filmmakers, including the Media Education Foundation. Search for specific movie titles, or browse a list of all the online documentaries licensed by the Penn State University Libraries
Kanopy distributes documentaries, independent and world cinema, and classic and award-winning films from a variety of filmmakers, including the Media Education Foundation. Search for specific movie titles, or browse a list of all the online documentaries licensed by the Penn State University Libraries. To find out when the license for a Kanopy video expires, contact the Music and Media Center at musiccenter@psu.edu.
Docuseek2 Collection This link opens in a new window
Docuseek2 distributes online documentaries from a variety of filmmakers, including Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films, and Terra Nova Films. Search for specific movie titles, or browse a list of all the online documentaries licensed by the Penn State University Libraries.
Docuseek2 provides exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films. Docuseek2 allows you to search through its database in both traditional and unique ways. Docuseek2 supports traditional key word searches, but expands it to include searching through descriptions and transcripts. Docuseek2 also adds an expanded subject taxonomy, and allows you to combine subject category searches with grade level, length, filmmaker, awards, format and other characteristics to focus your search.
Films on Demand (Films Media Group) This link opens in a new window
Films Media Group distributes online documentaries from a variety of producers, including Films for the Humanities and Sciences, A&E Television Networks, Bill Moyers, BBC, Cambridge Educational, and Open University. Search for specific movie titles, or browse a list of all the online documentaries licensed by the Penn State University Libraries.
Films Media Group distributes online documentaries from a variety of producers, including Films for the Humanities and Sciences, A&E Television Networks, Bill Moyers, BBC, Cambridge Educational, and Open University. Search for specific movie titles, or browse a list of all the online documentaries licensed by the Penn State University Libraries.
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Supplied by Alexander Street Press, this database includes hundreds of documentary films from the Public Broadcasting Service, selected from series such as Frontline, NOVA, and American Experience.
The PBS Video Collection assembles hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service into one convenient online interface. A core of 245 titles, selected for their high quality and relevance to academic curricula, covers many educational disciplines, including history, science and technology, diversity studies, business, and current events. This collection provides access to the films and series users already know and trust, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, and films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
Media Education Foundation (MEF) This link opens in a new window
Supplied by the Kanopy streaming service, the documentary films produced by the Media Education Foundation inspire critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media.
The Media Education Foundation produces and distributes documentary films and other educational resources to inspire critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media.
Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
Supplied by Alexander Street Press, this database streams documentary films from Filmakers Library, a respected distributor of issues-based documentaries focused on the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media. Over 1200 video titles distributed by Filmakers Library are available through this online streaming service. Topics covered include: race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Over 1200 video titles distributed by Filmakers Library are available through this online streaming service. Topics covered include: race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.

ILL (Interlibrary Loan)

Interlibrary Loan Services (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan Services allows you to request materials that we do not have or that are unavailable in the University Libraries System!

Learn more about our Interlibrary Loan Services
Learn more about Borrowing and Renewing ILLs
Explore the list of Interlibrary Loan Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

**Interlibraary Loan Services**
Service	Description
ILLiad	Request scans, articles, and physical materials from any academic library.
PALCI E-ZBorrow	Search Pennsylvania and regional academic libraries for book loans.
Uborrow	Search the libraries of our Big Ten partners for book loans.
WorldCat	Search holdings of libraries worldwide.

Penn State University Libraries

Fayette Student Guide