Primary source accounts of early journeys across the globe. Includes records of early scientific discoveries, European expansionism and trade
Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.
Millions of high quality images from museums. use the date and region limiters to find content from the early modern mediterranean
The ARTstor Digital Library is an image database featuring works of art and other cultural heritage from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. The library of 2 million images is constantly growing. All images are accompanied by extensive metadata and are rights-cleared for specified educational uses.
Seminal religious works from the 16th and 17th centuries written by Protestant authors
The Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts is an exhaustive resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries. DLCPT gives researchers immediate, Web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. With new content uploads occurring on a weekly basis, the database offers a constantly growing treasury of theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, and polemical treatises written by more than 300 Protestant authors.
Seminal works from the 16th and 17th centuries written by Catholic authors.
A uniquely exhaustive resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries, the Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation gives researchers immediate, Web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.
Books, pamphlets and other sources printed in England or in works in English published in other countries between 1475-1700
Early English Books Online contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard's and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). Coverage includes the first book printed in English by William Caxton and features works by Malory, Bacon, More, Erasmus, Boyle, Newton, and Galileo. Novels, prayer books, pamphlets, almanacs, calendars, and many other types of primary sources are included. The works are presented as images that can be viewed online or downloaded in PDF format for viewing off-line.
Sources for the study of global commodities (tobacco, fur, coffee, etc...) in world history
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
Millions of digitized books and other materials from academic libraries. Includes many titles published before 1800
Sponsored by the libraries of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the University of California, and other partners, HathiTrust is a repository of digitized materials in all disciplines. Its content--primarily scanned books and journals-- may be searched via authors, titles, subjects, and other data elements.
Primary source documents. mostly covering British, Irish, and Scottish history during the years 1100-1800 with some coverage of other parts of the world.
Primary source documents. mostly covering British, Irish, and Scottish history during the years 1100-1800. Key sources include the Calendar of State Papers, Close Rolls, Fine Rolls, Acts of the Privy Council, publications from the Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts and selected original manuscripts from the British National Archives. The documents record the political, ecclesiastical, social, and economic conditions in Britain, Ireland, and Scotland, with some coverage of Continental Europe and the American colonies.