American Builder's Companion by Asher Benjamin; W. D. Morgan (Introduction by)The most widely used early 19th century architectural style and source book, this work ranges from the Colonial up into the Greek Revival periods. Benjamin covers the extensive development of carpentry and construction techniques, as well as the evolution of the designs for domestic and public buildings. Excellent resource for historians, architects, restorers. Over 375 figures.
American Houses by Gerald L. FosterAmerican Houses is a historical guide to the architecture of the American home.While other architectural field guides show only façades, this book includes floor plans, showing how the form of a house arises from its function.Photographs and drawings of exteriors illustrate the significant field marks of each style and help pinpoint the key elements that can identify a house even when it has been remodeled beyond recognition.Beautifully illustrated, clearly written, and impeccably researched, American Houses is an essential reference for anyone interested in the history of American residential architecture.
Federal Style Patterns 1780 - 1820 by Lawrence D. Smith; MaryBeth MudrickThe detailed, clearly illustrated guide to federal patterns Federal Style Patterns 1780-1820 is a single-source book of pattern drawings illustrating the form, character, scale, and proportion of Federal Style ornament and detail built in New England primarily from 1780 to 1820. Conveniently organized in sections for cornices, door and window casings, chair rails, baseboards, mantels, and fences, Federal Style Patterns 1780-1820 features 300 detailed line drawings that are useful to architects, interior designers, and preservationists. An accompanying CD-ROM contains the drawings in the following formats: vector PDF, Postscript, DXF for PC, and PowerCadd for Mac. Federal Style Patterns 1780-1820 offers architects and interior designers a fresh look at this uniquely American style to provide a springboard for design inspiration and new ideas.
Perhaps more helpful for terms than images, but does include great details of building components
Rem Koolhaas. Elements of Architecture by Rem Koolhaas; Harvard Graduate School of Design; Stephan Trüby; James Westcott; Stephan Petermann; Wolfgang Tillmans (Artist); Irma Boom (Designed by)Elements of Architecture focuses on the fragments of the rich and complex architectural collage. Window, façade, balcony, corridor, fireplace, stair, escalator, elevator: the book seeks to excavate the micro-narratives of building detail. The result is no single history, but rather the web of origins, contaminations, similarities, and differences in architectural evolution, including the influence of technological advances, climatic adaptation, political calculation, economic contexts, regulatory requirements, and new digital opportunities. It's a guide that is long overdue--in Koolhaas's own words, "Never was a book more relevant--at a moment where architecture as we know it is changing beyond recognition." Derived, updated, and expanded from Koolhaas's exhaustive and much-lauded exhibition at the 2014 Venice Architecture Biennale, this is an essential toolkit to understanding the fundamentals that comprise structure around the globe. Designed by Irma Boom and based on research from the Harvard Graduate School of Design, the 2,600-page monograph contains essays from Rem Koolhaas, Stephan Trueby, Manfredo di Robilant, and Jeffrey Inaba; interviews with Werner Sobek and Tony Fadell (of Nest); and an exclusive photo essay by Wolfgang Tillmans. In addition to comprehensively updated texts and new images, this edition is designed and produced to visually (and physically) embody the immense scope of its subject matter: Custom split-spine binding: our printer modified their industrial binding machine to allow for the flexible, eight-centimeter thick spine Contains a new introductory chapter with forewords, table of contents, and an index, located in the middle of the book (where it naturally opens due to its unique spine) Printed on 50g Opakal paper, allowing for the ideal level of opacity needed to realize Boom's palimpsest-like design Translucent overlays and personal annotations by Koolhaas and Boom are woven in each chapter to create an alternative, faster route through the book Printed at the originally intended 100% size for full readability
A Visual Dictionary of Architecture by Francis D. K. ChingThe classic, bestselling reference on architecture now revised and expanded! An essential one-volume reference of architectural topics using Francis D.K. Ching's signature presentation. It is the only dictionary that provides concise, accurate definitions illustrated with finely detailed, hand-rendered drawings. From Arch to Wood, every concept, technology, material and detail important to architects and designers are presented in Ching's unique style. Combining text and drawing, each term is given a minimum double-page spread on large format trim size, so that the term can be comprehensively explored, graphically showing relations between concepts and sub-terms A comprehensive index permits the reader to locate any important word in the text. This long-awaited revision brings the latest concepts and technology of 21st century architecture, design and construction to this classic reference work It is sure to be by the side of and used by any serious architect or designer, students of architecture, interior designers, and those in construction.