Library Guides: INFSY 554: Master's Project : LionSearch and Google Scholar

Your Librarian

Contact:

205A Harrisburg Library

717-948-6130

Subjects: Business, Campus: Harrisburg, Criminal Justice, Entrepreneurship and Innovation, Information Sciences and Technology

Interdisciplinary search tools

Both LionSearch and Google scholar allow you to search across a wide range of disciplines. Since information systems topics can be broad and influenced by many forces, LionSearch or Google Scholar can be good starting points. LionSearch allows you to refine you search in ways not possible in Google Scholar, and it will connect you to Penn State full text resources in many formats. Google Scholar can connect you to full text journal articles available through the University Libraries by adding Penn State University under Settings > Library Links on the Google Scholar page.

These sources will help you locate both books and journal articles. LionSearch will also recomend subject databases to allow you to explore your subject in more depth.

Please be aware these databases DO NOT search business and industry resources like Hoover's or IBISWorld, but search for articles ONLY. Full text searching may also be more limited than in individual database searches.

LionSearch Basics

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
an integrated search of books, e-books, research articles, newspaper articles, and other publications.

For full text items, click the "full text online" link to go to the full text of the article.

If you see the Penn State "Get It" menu and you need to click the word "article" to get to the full text.
If there is no "article" link, click the word "journal" to get to the journal page and look for the correct year, volume, issue and pages for the article you need.

Tip: Save the relevant sources into the LionSearch temporary folder by clicking on the small folder icon to right side of the item. When you are finished compiling your sources, click on the folder icon at the top of the screen and email or print (which allows you to copy into your clipboard) the references so you can easily add them to your project.

Don’t lose your work! Unless you sign up for Refworks, items are saved in LionSearch ONLY for your current session. You won’t be able to go back later and see a list of saved items.

LionSearch Tutorials
for more detailed help

Scholarly Articles in LionSearch

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
Select Scholarly & Peer-Review under the Refine Your Search limits on the left.

Books in LionSearch

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
Select Book / eBook under the Content Type limits on the left.

Google Scholar

In addition to interdisciplinary research, Google Scholar can be a useful tool for locating articles to which we do not have full-text access to, which you can then request via InterLibrary Loan.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.

Using Google Scholar (2 min video)
The basics of using Google's articles search engine.