The 1970's
Nixon meets Elvis (1970)
Earth from Apollo 17 (1972)
OPEC oil embargo (1973)
"Thrilla in Manila" (1975)
Carter meets the Shah of Iran (1977)
Saturday Night Fever (1978)
Three Mile Island meltdown (1979)
Resources for Video Project Research
Primary Sources
-
American Decades Primary Sources, 1970-1979 by Publication Date: 2004The 1970s continued the tumult of the previous decade with new political and social conflicts. The following documents are just a sampling of the offerings available in this volume: Kent State SDS Flyer, and statements from witnesses to events that led to the deaths of four students, the diary of Iran Hostage Crisis survivor, U.S. v. Nixon, Norman Mailer's article on the first fight between Muhammad Ali and Joe Frasier. -
All-American Ads of the 70s by Publication Date: 2004A fascinating study of mass culture dissemination in a post-hippie, television-obsessed nation, this weighty volume delivers an exhaustive and nostalgic overview of 70s advertising.
-
Gale Primary SourcesGale Artemis: Primary Sources features multiple collections. Collections to search that will be most useful for the 1970's theme are those in Contemporary Studies (such as U.S. Declassified Documents Online), Legal Studies (such as U.S. Supreme Court Records & Briefs), and Newspapers and Periodicals (such as the Sunday Times Historical Archives).
-
Access World News (NewsBank) [Text Content; Limited Streaming Video] - PSU access expires 06/30/2021.This easy to search database contains a wide array of American and international news articles covering a broad range of subjects such as business, sports, politics, culture, and people.
-
DocsTeach: 1970s AmericaPrimary sources and teaching activities for topics in the 1970s. Many of the photographs and documents found on this page are featured in Searching for the Seventies: The DOCUMERICA Photography Project exhibit from the National Archives.
Secondary Sources
-
Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog)The online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries.
Includes books, ebooks, videos, periodicals, maps, music, digitized works, microfilm titles, and other formats that are in the University Libraries' collections.
Note: you will not find articles from newspapers, magazines, or journals in the library catalog.
-
American Decades, 1970-1979 by Publication Date: 1995This reference documents and analyzes periods of contemporary American social history. There are 10 volumes altogether and each includes: a chronology of the decade; subject chapters with background essays; subject-specific chronologies and alphabetically arranged items depicting the people, ideas, and facts important during that period. -
Social History of the United States by Publication Date: 2008This ten-volume encyclopedia explores the social history of 20th-century America in rich, authoritative detail, decade by decade, through the eyes of its everyday citizens. The 1970s is covered in volume 8. -
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History by Publication Date: 2001The Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience. Articles on the 1970s are found in volume 2.
-
America: History & Life with Full TextSearch for scholarly articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals.
-
American History in Video (North America)Over a thousand hours of archival and documentary films of historical interest including content from the History Channel, PBS, the U.S. Government and other educational media sources. Video clips can be selected to create customized playlists that can be annotated, copied, and shared.