Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INFSY 595: Internship

Literature Types and Characteristics

The information below can help you understand the differences between scholarly journals, professional/trade journals, and popular periodicals. 

​Peer Reviewed = Scholarly?  Not always. Scholarly implies an academic audience whereas some non-scholarly works can undergo editorial review or review by peers.
For your Individual Literature Review, you may use journal articles and conference papers only. 
Comparison of Scholarly, Conference, Professional, and Popular Periodicals
Criteria Scholarly Journals Conference Papers Professional/Trade Journals Popular Periodicals/ Magazines
Audience Researchers and experts Researchers, experts, students Members of a trade or profession The general public
Author Researchers and experts Researchers, experts, students Staff writers and experts in the field Staff writers, although many articles are unsigned
References (Sources cited) Includes reference lists and bibliography. All quotes and facts are documented. Includes reference lists and bibliography. All quotes and facts are documented. Reference lists sometimes included. References rarely included.
Purpose To disseminate research findings  To quickly disseminate research findings; possibly preliminary research findings To publicize current topics in the field and professional issues To disseminate general information or to entertain
Content Detailed research reports and methodologies  Shorter research reports and methodologies. May be used to refine research questions Trends, standards, and new technologies in the field General interest stories and news; may include personal narrative and opinions
Language Jargon that assumes expertise in the field Jargon that assumes expertise in the field Jargon that assumes expertise in the field Language that requires no expertise
Publisher Associations or universities Conferences or Associations Associations Commercial organizations
Layout Highly structured organization; includes abstract, bibliography, charts or graphs Format may vary by conference, but should include an abstract and bibliography Structured organization; usually includes abstract, bibliography, charts or graphs Informal organization: eye-catching type and format; includes illustrations or photographs
Examples Journal of the American Medical Association; Political Science Quarterly Frequently released as "Proceedings"; Proceedings of the 49th Hawaiian International Conference on System Sciences  Hospital Business Week; Real Estate Weekly News; Farm Industry News Time; Newsweek; Science News