A great place to get started with background information on any topic. This should not be your only source, but it is a good jumping off point. Be sure to look at the references at the end of helpful articles to find every more helpful sources.
A good place to find reliable articles on current events topics. Use the footnotes to get to the original source - CQ Researcher gives you a great, easy to read explanation of a topic, but it's your job to find the facts in the articles.
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, archive, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews.
A comprehensive, scholalry, multi-disciplinary databases with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals. Narrow the date ranges and use subject terms to limit your search.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.App information
A great database for searching reliable and scholarly sources in the humanities and social sciences.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
The online catalog of materials owned by Penn State librarian.
The online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 2 million titles. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added
Use the Browse function if you are looking for a specific title or author (type last name first).
Use the Keyword function and combine terms to search on a topic then use the subject headings from relevant books for additional search terms.
Write down the call number and location for any book you want. If the item is not at your campus use the "I Want It" button to request it.
For electronic books, click the link under the words "online content" to access the full text