It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A fine, online encyclopedia. Start with a briefing!
Oxford Art Online combines several key encyclopedias and dictionaries important for the history of art and architecture. Together these provide the largest and most authoritative list of biographies of artists in English, as well as an excellent collection of scholarly encyclopedia articles on important topics in the visual arts. Included are Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and others.
Describes articles and books on architecture, landscape architecture and urban planning. Not included in LionSearch. This info is "open access" -- free to all from one of the largest architecture libraries in the world. Unfortunately, no links – each item chosen must be checked in Advanced LionSearch to obtain access.
In addition to listing the books and other collections of one of the largest architectural libraries in the world, the Library of the Royal Institute of British Architects, this catalogue contains hundreds of thousands of records describing each feature article in more than 300 important architectural periodicals. “Architecture” here means history and current practice, as well as landscape architecture, interior design, urban design, and a significant amount of related engineering (civil, structural, construction, etc.) Since this is another library’s catalog, the location information on each record is not relevant – each item will need to checked in LionSearch or The CAT to determine if it is immediately available.
Other Important Article Sources
The following important indexes to articles are mostly covered by LionSearch, but sometimes searching them separately is helpful:
Describes articles related to architecture, landscape architecture and urban planning. Links to the texts via the GetIt button. Almost everything covered here is written by architects, architectural critics, and architectural historians.
Contains descriptions of articles on the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, furniture, and interior design and decoration in more than 700 international magazines. Most indexing began with 1934, but some titles are indexed to dates as early as 1741. Updated weekly.
An excellent collection of scholarly journals in all disciplines. The metadata (author,title, summary, etc.) is indexed in LionSearch, but the full texts are searchable only in JSTOR.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.