Library Guides: PSU 17: First-Year Seminar College of Information Sciences and Technology: Data Science Ethics

Librarian

she/her

Contact:

309-G Paterno Library

Available for remote consultations!

Subjects: Campus: University Park, Enterprise Architecture, Information Sciences and Technology, Management Information Systems

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Articles on a broad range of topics (STEM, humanities, social sciences, etc.)
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Journals, conference proceedings, and eBooks from the ACM (Association for Computer Machinery).
Full text of every article ever published by ACM. Special Access Notes:
ACM recommends Chrome for access.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Articles, conference proceedings, and eBooks from IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers).
IEEE Xplore contains the full text of all IEEE & IET conference papers, and standards published since 1988 and all IEEE journals since 1884 & IET journals since 1988. The material can be accessed through a searchable database or by browsing. 100 concurrent users. Inactive users timeout after 15 minutes.

PSU 17 LinkedIn Learning Playlist
Videos on Ethics and Law in Data Analytics, Data Science Fundamentals, Data Ethics: Managing Your Private Customer Data, AI Accountability Essential Training, Securing the IoT: Privacy, and Smarter Cities: Using Data to Drive Urban Innovation

Safari Learning Platform: Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
eBooks on programming, information and computer science topics.
Safari Academic Edition includes more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences. Includes access to exclusive O’Reilly content and resources from more than 200 other publishers.
Special Access Notes: Deep linking instructions for Safari ebooks and videos

Data Feminism by Catherine D'Ignazio; Lauren F. Klein
ISBN: 9780262358521
Publication Date: 2020-02-21
A new way of thinking about data science and data ethics that is informed by the ideas of intersectional feminism. Data Feminism offers strategies for data scientists seeking to learn how feminism can help them work toward justice, and for feminists who want to focus their efforts on the growing field of data science. But Data Feminism is about much more than gender. It is about power, about who has it and who doesn't, and about how those differentials of power can be challenged and changed.
Race after Technology by Ruha Benjamin
ISBN: 9781509526437
Publication Date: 2019-07-09
From everyday apps to complex algorithms, Ruha Benjamin cuts through tech-industry hype to understand how emerging technologies can reinforce White supremacy and deepen social inequity. Benjamin argues that automation, far from being a sinister story of racist programmers scheming on the dark web, has the potential to hide, speed up, and deepen discrimination while appearing neutral and even benevolent when compared to the racism of a previous era.