Library Guides: BIOL 473: Mammalian Physiology: Finding Articles

Select Library Databases

Below are just a few databases that might be useful for your search.

Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstract level access to the prominent journals in life sciences.
Biological Abstracts is the premier database for the biological sciences. BA monitors more than 5,000 international journals to ensure that virtually every life science topic is covered, including agriculture, biochemistry, biology, botany, molecular biology, biotechnology, physiology, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology, and ecology and the environment. Coverage is from 1926 to date.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database that includes includes the full text of over 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
ProQuest (Multiple Databases) This link opens in a new window
Search multiple databases from ProQuest through one interface covering multiple disciplines
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. Keywords: news, New York Times, current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, English 15, CAS 100.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from Multiple distances and allows you to track the usage of articles in new research across the disciplines.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.
CAB Abstracts (agriculture, nutrition and global health) This link opens in a new window
From the Centre for Agriculture and Bioscience International (CABI) covers areas related to biology, agriculture, public health and medicine
CAB Abstracts via CAB Direct covers all areas of agriculture including animal production and welfare (equine, dairy, cattle, poultry), horticulture, (fruits, nuts, vegetables ornamentals, flowers) crop science (grains, forages) and plant protection, applied economics and rural studies, animal nutrition, entomology, aquaculture and veterinary science, food science and nutrition, forestry and the management and conservation of natural resources, leisure and tourism, microbiology, parasitology, mycology, nematology, bacteriology and virology, biotechnology, and plant pathology and postharvest factors. CAB Direct also includes a Global Health section which covers international and public health, including bacterial, viral and prion diseases, mycology, parasitology, disease vectors, zoonotic diseases, nutrition and food safety, medicinal plants, toxicology and public and rural health.
LionSearch This link opens in a new window
This catch-all tool searches a majority of the databases that the library has in its collection
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Allows you to search the web of scholarly material using Google's algorithm.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Video from the University of Minnesota Libraries

Anatomy of a Research Article
from CSUDH University Library

Finding the Full Text of Articles

Sometimes, the full text of an article won't be available in the database where you find it. Here are some strategies for locating the Full text.

1. Use the Get It! Penn State Button

This button is a short cut that allows you to quickly search through our other databases to find the full text.

2. Search Yourself Using Lion Search

Lion Search is the catch-all search that allows you to search all our resources at once. Search for the article's title to see if we have the full text in our collection - make sure you put it in quotes!

3. Request an Interlibrary Loan

If the "Get It!" button and Lion Search don't come up with the full text - you will see an option to request the full text via Interlibrary Loan. Once you fill out the request, it may take a few days for us to get the full text from another library - you will be notified by your PSU email how to access the full text once it arrives.

Interlibrary Loan Services Page

Penn State University Libraries

BIOL 473: Mammalian Physiology

ASK for Help!

Librarian

Select Library Databases

How to Read a Scholarly Article

Finding the Full Text of Articles