United Nations University – World Institute for Development Economics Research (UNU-WIDER) World Income Inequality Database (WIID) collects and stores information on income inequality for developed, developing, and transition countries. Contents include an update of the Deininger & Squire database from the World Bank, and estimates from the Luxembourg Income Study (LIS).
The World Bank's poverty reduction projects and programs span all sectors and areas of their work. They are supported by thorough analysis to make sure Bank lending operations benefit the poor and vulnerable in the countries they serve.
An online library of reports (including statistical data) on poverty and income inequality. Available data includes poverty and inequality measures generated from analytical reports, from national poverty monitoring programs, and from the World Bank’s Development Research Group. Social indicators included in data measurements include population, GNP per capita, income distribution, and expenditures on social programs. Use the quick links below:
Access regional and country dashboards displaying tables and graphs with the latest data and trends in poverty and inequality. Includes data visualization tools that track the evolution of poverty over time.
Latest poverty and inequality indicators compiled from officially recognized international sources. Poverty indicators include the poverty headcount ratio, poverty gap, and number of poor at both international and national poverty lines. Inequality indicators include the GINI Index and income or consumption distributions. The database includes national, regional and global estimates. This database is maintained by the Global Poverty Working Group (GPWG), a team of poverty measurement experts from the Poverty Reduction and Equity Network, the Development Research Group, and the Development Data Group.
This database provides access to impact evaluations of World Bank-supported interventions and impact evaluations undertaken by World Bank staff over the past few years, as well as others from a variety of other academic and development institutions. It includes impact evaluations (ex-ante and ex-post), where an intervention outcome is assessed against an explicit counterfactual. No other criteria were used. The database does not discriminate on the basis of quality. Hence, inclusion in the database does not imply World Bank endorsement of the methodology or findings.
Databank is an analysis and visualization tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) e-Library simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. Information and perspectives are available on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and much more.
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more. Full Text.
Access to authoritative, harmonized global statistical databases including: International Financial Statistics; Direction of Trade; Balance of Payments; Government Finance Statistics.
Includes the full range of publicly available IMF data from 5 major datasets: International Financial Statistics (IFS), Government Finance Statistics(GFS), Balance of Payment Statistics (BoPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS, and Trade and Investment statistics. Also includes data from the Coordinated Direct Investment Survey, Coordinated Portfolio Investment Survey, Financial Access Survey, Financial Soundness Indicators, International Reserves Template. Includes long time series. Data can be downloaded.