Helpful for finding scholarly and trade journals in business, the energy industry, etc. In addition to searching “Three Mile Island,” also try “nuclear accidents,” “radiation,” and other recommended subject terminology from ABI/Inform’s thesaurus.
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
Best database for engineering literature. In addition to searching “Three Mile Island,” try “nuclear reactor accidents,” “nuclear power,” “nuclear energy,” “fission reactor,” “core meltdown,” “decontamination,” “radioactive waste disposal,” and other recommended search words from Compendex’s thesaurus.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
Includes Department of Energy technical reports, articles, conference papers, and more from the 1940s to present. Many are full text. Formerly known as DoE Information Bridge and Energy Citations.
SciTech Connect includes Department of Energy technical reports, articles, conference papers, and more from the 1940s. Many are full text. Formerly known as DoE Information Bridge and Energy Citations.
The most comprehensive database for medical journals. In addition to searching “Three Mile Island,” consider using “nuclear power plants,” “radioactive hazard release,” “neoplasms, radiation-induced,” and other recommended MeSH subject headings.
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/pubmed.html. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
Includes literature on mental health pertaining to TMI. In addition to “Three Mile Island,” also try “industrial accidents,” “nuclear technology,” and other recommended wording from PsycINFO’s thesaurus.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Provides scholarly journals on politics and public policy. In addition to "Three Mile Island," try "antinuclear movements," "nuclear energy," "radiation," and other words recommended by the WPSA thesaurus.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the new database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage. As of February 2004 approximately 1,432 titles are being monitored for coverage; this list will continue to grow.
Free search engine for federal documents published from 1976 to present. Few of the older documents are available online, but they can often be found through Penn State University Libraries or the State Library of Pennsylvania.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.