Links to databases and resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education, with a focus on PreK-12. Also helpful for elementary and secondary teachers of biology, chemistry, earth sciences, physics, and other STEM topics.
Best source for Education literature. Unlike other library databases, ERIC allows you to search for education levels (such as elementary or secondary) and target audience (such as parents or teachers). This version links to Penn State's paid journal subscriptions, enabling you to read articles online.
Sort Database Group
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
Helpful for behavioral and psychological topics, such as child development, learning disabilities, and school psychology.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Important if you want to focus on journal articles that are most heavily cited by other researchers.
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline.