Academic Search Complete allows you to search over 40 subject indexes at one time. It can be a useful interdisciplinary tool in a smaller pool of resource then GoogleScholar.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.App information
Google Scholar is an amazing inter-disciplinary resource for sociological research. You are encourage to explore the advanced research options, citation alerts and Google's Metrics. It can be a powerful tool for known item searching particularly combined with the "Cited by" features.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
Seminal index for English-language journals in sociology, social work, and other social sciences. Provides links to full-text articles. Coverage: 1963 to the present.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Primary database for international literature in psychology and related disciplines. It is published by the American Psychological Association and provides coverage from 1840 to the present.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
The journal articles described in this resource are from the premier journals in the field as well as from trade publications in the profession.
Provides abstracts of articles from the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, as well as books and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. For each document, an informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing. App information
a collection of comprehensive critical reviews of the written by leading scientists in the fields, and are heavily cited and highly ranked in terms of impact factors.
Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Provides a robust ranking of scholarly journals in sociology and related subjects.
Journal performance metrics offer a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals delivers quantifiable statistical information based on citation data Helps determine a publication's impact and influence in the global research community Includes journal and category data
Although not strictly a tool for ranking journals, this tool can be useful for identifying whether or not a particular journal is refereed or scholarly.
Ulrichsweb.com provides data on over a quarter-million serials titles (magazines, newspapers, newsletters, journals, etc...) produced around the world. Information typically provided includes: status (active/inactive),subscription price, publisher information, frequency of publication, ISSN, whether the publication is refereed, and which indexes cover the title. In some cases circulation and advertising data, tables of contents, and links to online materials are provided. Includes reviews from the publication Magazines for Libraries.