Education: Organization, Development, and Change / Training and Development
Links to databases for Organization, Development, and Change / Training and Development. Also helpful for related topics such as coaching, leadership development, mentoring, and performance improvement.
Best database for Education. Unlike other library databases, it enables you to search for specific audiences, such as "practitioner" or "researcher." Helpful for topics such as education theory or instructional design.
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms.
The most comprehensive database for Business. Especially helpful for trainers working in corporate environments. Includes journals pertaining to human resource development, leadership, organizational change, and related topics.
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry.
An essential article database for business research providing the full text for more than 2,000 periodicals, including about 1,000 scholarly journals. Covers virtually all disciplines in business and economics, including: accounting, economics, econometrics, finance, marketing, management, MIS, QMM and supply chain management. App information
Best database for psychology literature. May be especially helpful for topics concerning adult/institutional behavior, cognition, or social actions. Unlike other library databases, PsycINFO enables you to search for studies by research methodology (such as qualitative or quantitative).
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Search Google Scholar to find research articles from a wide range of sources.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
OD&C / T&D Search Tips
1). Researching OD&C / T&D within certain professions or workplaces (such as hospital employees or law enforcement)?
Consider using databases specific to those communities. To find resources for your industry/profession, see the library's Research Guides.
2). Use each database's thesaurus or subject headings list to identify the best wording for your topic.
For example, both ABI/Inform and ERIC use:
Leadership Training (NOT "leadership development")