Use the person's name and "obituaries" or "deaths" as search terms. Note: Daily entries for Centre Daily Times obits are sometimes delayed by 2 months or more. Does not include all obituaries. Recent obituaries can be found in the CDT's online obituaries page:
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Also includes limited streaming video.
In Article Type, check "Deaths & Obituaries."
Includes results from the open web via Web News. Tab
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
Includes a digitized image of every backfile issue of The New York Times from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.
Includes a digitized image of issues of The Chicago Tribune from 1849-1990: news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.
Choose "Article Types" tab, then "Death Notices" to limit the results.
Readex's Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) is a unique, webbased archive of Americana that provides a fascinating glimpse into our nation's past. The Early American Newspaper Collection will feature the images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.
Select "Advanced Search", then choose "Obituary" as "Document type."
Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Contains full-text of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741 and 1900. Digitized page images reproduce the publications as they appeared when originally published.
Use "Advanced Search" and click on "obituaries" (in the "Limit the current Search" section, under "People"). However, be aware that some notices of death are considered "news stories" and not obituaries.
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Use the person's name and 'deaths' as search terms. Index only. Need to use the microfilm to find the actual obituary.
Palmer's Index to The Times contains records from the 461 printed volumes of Palmer' Index to the London Times newspaper. Articles can be located by broad subject headings, date of publication, or title keywords. Obituaries are under the heading "Deaths". For articles after 1905 consult the print volumes for the Official Index to the Times, available in the Microforms and Newspapers Library, Ground Floor West Pattee (Call # A121.T46). The text of the Times is on microfilm, Call # Microfilm E200
Add the word "obituary" to your Keyword search to limit to obituaries.
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of full-text journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Though the focus is on the twentieth century, coverage of some titles dates to the eighteenth century.