DO look for inspiration in the world around you!
Choose topics that have personal meaning to you or are something you would like to learn more about. It is much easier and interesting to research something you care about.
DO focus or broaden the scope of your topic to suit the length of your paper.
DO turn your research topic into research questions -- and jot them down! -- to help you get better results.
This helps you focus on what you need to learn from your sources. It also helps you develop additional keywords for your search.
DO remember that experts' research found in scholarly journal articles lend you their expertise!
DO collect all the citation information you need for your bibliography as you do your research.
Authors. Date. Publication title. Publication Name, vol(issue), page numbers. DOI
PLEASE DO ask for help if you're not finding what you are looking for!
The best database for articles in Psychology. Unlike most library databases, it enables you to search for studies by research methodology, participcants' age and gender, and other helpful categories.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Helpful for sociological and social psychological perspectives.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
The most helpful database for nursing and allied health. Can "limit" searches to evidence-based practice, specific age groups, or other criteria.
One of two major databases for nursing, providing references to over 1,800 nursing and allied health journal articles in addition to citations for book chapters, nursing dissertations, association publications, educational software, conference proceedings and selected full-text for state nursing journal articles, legal cases, patient education material, research instruments, standards of practice, critical paths, nurse practice acts, drugs, clinical innovations and government publications. References for alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and health sciences librarianship are also included. Coverage: 1982 - Present. Updates: Monthly. App information
Helpful for topics pertaining to juvenile delinquency, crime prevention, and violence.
Provides abstracts of articles from the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, as well as books and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. For each document, an informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing. App information
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.