Comprehensive listing of international organizations and countries of the world. Includes summary information about the history, economic, and government affairs of each country and statistics on economy, demographics, and industry.
Now in its third edition, this award-winning publication contains entries written by the world's most influential economists, including 36 Nobel Laureates. In addition to classic and foundational articles of enduring importance, the latest edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics includes entries on topical issues including gender and economics, recent economic crises in the European Union and beyond, health economics and the economics of the Internet. With over 3,000 individual articles, this is the definitive scholarly reference work for a new generation of economists.
Presents vocabulary used by free-market (classical-liberal, libertarian political) schools of economic thought. General economic terms are included when the free-market perspective has created special meanings. This dictionary contains brief definitions only.
This specialized publication provides simple, clear definitions of terms that occur most commonly in government publications. It only includes terms to which the government applies specialized meanings and terms that are used extensively in reporting statistics. Within some definitions, it offers explanations of federal survey programs. Nearly all definitions include a reference to the agency responsible for the program from which the term is derived.
Also a significant work, this resource reflects the "fruitful interchange . . . [between] . . . ethics, moral philosophy , political philosophy, economics, and law" (Coleman), in three volumes. About 400 lengthy articles, authored by notable scholars, discuss theoretical and empirical work from economics and law. Each volume includes an alphabetical list of articles and a subject classification outline. Written in non-technical language.