A specialized collection of American underground comix from the 1960s to the works of modern sequential artists. Over 75,000 pages of comics and graphic novels, along with 25,000 pages of interviews, criticism, and journal articles.
Online full text of underground comic books and graphic novels
Includes articles from hundreds of sources on American and worldwide popular culture. Browse by decade or search for a topic.
Pop Culture Universe(PCU) is an authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present and includes more than 250 volumes of reviewed, published material comprising thousands of articles, fully indexed by a team of librarians and subject specialists.Built on hundreds of award-winning titles for all levels of researchers, PCU provides a safe haven for investigating topics that appeal to students - without the bias, advertising, suggestive content, or questionable authorship of commercial or fan sites
This index is specialized to modern and contemporary art. To find materials on comics, try the subject terms "Comic strips" or "Cartoons and Caricatures."
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) indexes publications about art from the late 19th century to the present, providing full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Approximately 12-13,000 new entries are added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Information from international art publications. See Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) for older articles.
Indexes hundreds of international art magazines, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as some published in other languages. Indexing is available for publications 1929+; abstracting for 1994+, and Full Text is often available for 1997+ but keyword searches do not explore the full texts – only the titles, subject headings, & etc.. Not covered by LionSearch.
(Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Dictionary of Literary Biography) - three sources with background information on graphic novels and comics and their authors.
This new and growing database covers authors from all genres and time periods. Entries provide a good starting point for students by providing a general essay and biographical information. In addition to the essay there are references to primary and further critical information. All entries are written by scholars and academic specialists.
Indexes many general magazines, journals, and newspapers. A good source of reviews, overview articles, and articles about the publishing industry. Try searching the topics "Comic books" or "Graphic Novels" or even "Cartoons."
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.App information
There are many refereed, online journals which are not indexed and are only retrievable via search engines. When searching for articles, use author of work, title of work to retrieve information about that publication.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
A scholarly database with articles and criticism, biographies, etc. on graphic novels, authors, etc.
With over a third of a million full-text works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with the definitive online criticism and reference library, Literature Online is the world's largest cross-searchable database of literature and criticism.