Use to find articles and other works on U.S. and Canadian history.
Search for articles on all aspects of the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Articles from national, state and local historical journals are covered, as well as historical articles in major humanities and social science journals. Also includes citations to reviews, books, and dissertations.Keywords: African-American, Afro-American, Black, Hispanic, Latino, Colonial, Pennsylvania, Native Americans, women, gender, revolution, revolutionary war, civil war, Vietnam War, Cold War, World War I, World War II, Immigration, Immigrants, labor, agriculture, culture, society, politics, religion, economic, military, historiography. App information
Biographical essays on men and women whose lives shaped the nation.
The American National Biography Online offers portraits of more than 17,000 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. The online version reproduces the full-text of the original 24 volume set published in 1999, with new and updated entries added regularly. The online edition features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities.
A subject guide to special collections in archives across the country.
This resource provides access to an integrated database of three major information resources (NUCMC--National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections, NIDS--National Inventory of Documentary Resources in the United States, and DAMRUS--Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States). ArchivesUSA gives access to holdings and contact information of more than 4,400 repositories, and indexes to nearly 100,000 special collections. Coverage: Current edition. Updates: Continuous.
Use to discover archival materials in U.S. and international collections.
An index produced by the Research Libraries Group to finding aids and other descriptive information about the holdings of manuscript and archival collections in libraries and research institutions throughout the world
Broadsides created from 1820 to 1900 and printed ephemera from between 1760 and 1900 .
Based on the American Antiquarian Society's collection this database offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900, and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. Broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Ephemera include early trade cards, theater playbills, stock certificates, menus and invitations, popular songs and music, and poetry. American Broadsides and Ephemera can be searched as a single collection, or combined with other resources in the Archive of Americana.
Find biographies published in specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries.
An index (not full text resource) to biographical information about influential people worldwide, both living and historical. Lists the contents of readily available current reference books as well as major reference works from the past. It currently has over 10 million references, with about 450,000 new ones added annually. See the Gale Web site for additional information and copyright statement. Coverage: Current edition. Updates: Continuous.
Full-text of writings from over 400 authors, as well as related materials.
Contains searchable full-text from the writings of over 400 authors. When complete, the collection will include more than 100,000 pages of primary materials, as well as author biographies and a Civil War chronology.
Find articles and other materials written about World history from the year 1450 to the present.
Search for articles and other publications on world history from 1450 to present, (except for the United States and Canada which are indexed in the companion work, America: History and Life). The database includes articles in journals worldwide, including a selection of major social science and humanities journals. Also included are references to dissertations and books. App information
Full text of history journals from the Organization of American Historians and other sources.
The full-text of recent issues of the American Historical Review, the Journal of American History, Labour History, Environmental History, and other journals. Project partners include the American Historical Association, the Organization of American Historians and other publishers.
Full-text of scholarly journals, including Civil War History and other history journals.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
Letters and diaries from Colonial times to around 1950.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes approximately 100,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950 plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 1,000 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous. More than 1,500 biographies will enhance the use of the database. The collection includes one of the most comprehensive bibliographies of women's diaries and letters yet published. It lists over 2,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform.
Full-text archive of scholarly journals many fields, including dozens of core history journals.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Periodicals Archive Online is the new name for PCI Full Text - an archive of hundreds of full-text journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Though the focus is on the twentieth century, coverage of some titles dates to the eighteenth century.
Full-text of government publications, including congressional reports, executive and department reports and other documents ordered printed by Congress.
The U.S. Serial Set, a full-text collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress, includes Congressional reports and documents, executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress, the American State Papers, and all maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs found within the U.S. Serial Set from 1789-1969. Covering every aspect of American life from the early 19th century onward, from farming, to westward expansion, scientific exploration, politics, international relations, business, and manufacturing.