GIS Specialist
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
Introduction
This page provides links and resources to products that are available via logging into an ArcGIS Online organizational account. Please visit the PSU GIS User software page for more information on accessing ArcGIS Online.
Living Atlas
- Esri Academy: More and More: Discover the Living Atlas of the World (Training Seminar)This tutorial highlights the discovery of content through the Living Atlas.
- Pump up your pop-ups with Arcade FeatureSets and the Living Atlas (blog)These tips indicate ways to customize pop-up information of web layers.
Field Maps
- ArcGIS Field MapsArcGIS Field Maps is a mobile field mapping tool that allows for data collection, map viewing, and location tracking. Field Maps is useful for field collection, data editing, locating assets and information, and reporting on field work.
- Field Maps Quick ReferenceThis is a summarized reference guide that breakdowns what Field Maps is and all of the components within the app, including layout and functionality. The reference guide goes through the entirety of the Field Maps process, from creating a map to analyzing field data.
- Field Maps Learning Path (Learn ArcGIS)This site provides useful information and resources for getting started with Field Maps, including getting to know Field Maps, 5 things to trying Field Maps, and how to migrate from ArcGIS Collector, the previous ArcGIS mobile app.
- Field Maps ResourcesLink to the several discovery paths for Field Maps, including what to try in field maps, how to collect data, and how to analyze data.
- Field Maps Migration GuideThis is an intensive summary of how to migrate from the previous ArcGIS mobile apps (Collector, Explorer, and Tracker) to Field Maps.
- Get to Know ArcGIS Field Maps (video)This video from ArcGIS introduces the basics to Field Maps.
- Introduction to ArcGIS Field maps (video)This is a recording of the Esri Event introducing and explaining Field Maps.
Survey123
- Survey123 for ArcGISThis site enables the user to create a survey, including having a geolocation option for respondents.
- Survey123 ConnectThis site provides access to the Survey 123 website, field application, and desktop application for creating and publishing a survey.
- ESRI videos on Survey123This suite of short videos from Esri provide insights into Survey 123 functionality.
- Learn ArcGIS, Get Started with Survey123 lessonA tutorial for working with survey data including in a map form.
- ESRI videos on from the ESRI User Conference 2017 on Collector for ArcGIS: Survey123: An IntroductionA video introduction to Survey 123.
- Esri Academy, Survey123 for ArcGIS: Author a Survey on the Web (Web course):A web course on using Survey 123.
Frequently asked questions:
1. I’m interested in sharing my results from an ArcGIS Survey 123 form? How do I go about this?
To share the results of your survey, click the Collaborate option, and examine options under the Share Results section. More information from Esri documentation on the share results.
Additional screenshots of survey sharing options and item view of survey content are available in the Esri document: Limiting Access to Public Survey 123 Results. This document includes information on the creation of Feature Layer views for the use of in other application, if desired to modify the content seen by others in results. Additional recommendations are provided from the Esri Community post, “Securing data in public surveys (Survey 1123 web designer)”.
Additional Learning Resources: Learning path: Access Data results from Survey123, including a section on a video Leverage your survey data in other apps
2. How can I incorporate a Survey 123 form in other ArcGIS Online applications?
A link to a Survey123 form can be added to other ArcGIS Online application. This is an example of embedding a survey into an ArcGIS Dashboard. Survey123 Tricks of the Trade: Embedding a survey in an ArcGIS Dashboard.
3. How do I incorporate skip-logic into a Survey123 question?
When creating a question, a rule can be set-up. Rules can only be set-up for single select, dropdown, likert, and rating questions.
4.What special features exist for organizing questions in Survey123?
Special Features include a note, group, and page function
Additional examples include the use of ranking questions and choice randomization, of additional survey creation features. Survey123 Tricks of the Trade: Ranking question and choice randomization
ArcGIS Experience Builder
- ArcGIS Experience Builder OverviewOverview information on ArcGIS Experience Builder. This site includes more information on projects using Experience Builder, documentation, and learning resources. ArcGIS Experience Builder is available via the Application Launch Area in the top right corner of ArcGIS Online.
- ArcGIS Experience Builder ResourcesThis ArcGIS Experience Builder page includes links to blog articles, learning paths, and documentation for ArcGIS Experience Builder.
ArcGIS Hub
- Learn ArcGIS: Try ArcGIS Hub BasicIncludes video and article content for the creation of ArcGIS Hub sites.
- ArcGIS Hub ResourcesIncludes links to ArcGIS blog articles, newsletter, webinars, e-book, and updates. Additional tutorials and learning plans are also available.
- ArcGIS Hub GalleryBrowse examples of ArcGIS Hub by sectors (government, nonprofits, utilities, education) or focus area (topics)
- ArcGIS Hub Video and Webinar PlaylistArcGIS video and webinar playlist for introduction, use, and examples of ArcGIS Hub.
ArcGIS Scene Viewer
- Getting Started with Scene ViewerArcGIS Lesson on how to create a 3D web app.
Working with Adobe Creative Cloud
- Getting Started with ArcMaps for Adobe Creative CloudThis tutorial highlights how cartographic design of a map can be designed in Adobe Illustrator.
AppStudio
- AppStudioApps readily available from enterprise ArcGIS Online Organizational Account. Enables the creation of mobile apps for Android, iOS, Windows, Mac OS X, and Linux. Apps can be created for Google Play, Apple, and Micosoft app stores.
- GeoNet, AppStudio for ArcGISOnline discussion forum on AppStudio activities
- AppStudio for ArcGIS: Search for examples, documents, instruction, and reference materialsDocumentation to help to create and deploy applications
- Guided tour of creating appInstructions on getting started with AppStudio
- Tutorial on Create an app in AppStudioInstructions on creating an app in AppStudio.
Developer
- ArcGIS DevelopersDashboard of applications and resources
- Tutorial on ArcGIS DeveloperGetting started tutorials for building web maps, and applications based on API or SDK
- Developer DocumentationCore concepts of Developer
Workforce
- Workforce for ArcGIS OverviewMobile field collection for personnel
- Workforce for ArcGIS ResourcesResources on Workforce for ArcGIS
ArcGIS Business Analyst
- ArcGIS Business Analyst ResourcesThis page includes information on resources, documentations, learning paths, data sources, and additional information. ArcGIS Business Analyst is available via the Application Launch Area in the top right corner of ArcGIS Online.
Web App Builder for ArcGIS
- Web App Builder for ArcGISThe web app builder enables the user to choose functionality and add themes to ArcGIS Online applications, with no coding required.
- ArcGIS Blog, Web AppBuilder updatesUpdates on ArcGIS Online Web AppBuilder
ArcGIS Solutions
- ArcGIS Solutions Alphabetical ListingListing of ArcGIS Solutions which include relevant applications based on purpose. ArcGIS Solutions is available via the Application Launch Area in the top right corner of ArcGIS Online.
- ArcGIS Solutions by IndustryListing of ArcGIS Solutions by industry, including categories, such as business, conservation, defense, intelligence, public safety, state and local government, and utilities.
ArcGIS for Power BI
Microsoft Power BI: (MS applications are free to PSU users as part of the Office 365 group license, log in for free download). The online version of Power BI is available from the Apps area of Office 365.
Login Information
In the Online version of Power BI, click the settings gear icon in the top right corner, click ArcGIS Maps for Power BI, check “Use ArcGIS Maps for Power BI.”
Additional map features of Power BI
Desktop Power BI: Under Options, there is a preview features function for the following:
ArcGIS Image for ArcGIS Online
- ArcGIS Image for ArcGIS OnlineIncludes information on ArcGIS Image for ArcGIS Online and additional resources
- Interactive Images in StoryMapsIntroduction and tutorial on creating interactive images in StoryMaps
- Introducing ArcGIS Image for ArcGIS Online (ArcGIS Blog)Blog Post introducing the basics behind ArcGIS Image for ArcGIS Online
- Using Digital Maps and Images as Interactive Web Maps (StoryMap, Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information)StoryMap illustrating the different ways to implement interactive digital maps in StoryMaps