This resource can provide you with background information as well as pros and cons for many public policy topics related to criminal justice.
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, archive, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews.
Great for finding public policy information from think tanks and interest groups.
PolicyFile draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. Some well known contributors include: the American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Cato Institute, Center for Defense Information, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Council on Foreign Relations, Democratic Leadership Council, Economic Strategy Institute, Federation of American Scientists, Heritage Foundation, Hoover Institution, Hudson Institute, Institute for International Economics, International Monetary Fund, National Center for Policy Analysis, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, United States Institute of Peace, and the World Bank. Where available, access to home pages, electronic mail addresses and fulltext are made available within individual abstracts.
Policy resources from think tanks and interests groups with an international focus.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) is a comprehensive source for research in international affairs. It includes full text of selected books on international affairs, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. It also, contains abstracts and some full text of selected journal articles
This research guide identifies resource that will provide you access to law reviews, scholarly articles and media sources.
Note: A law review journal is a journal typically published by students at a law school or a bar association. Often these are reviews of legal cases and a discussion of legal issues and are not considered empirical research. They will often be used by lawyers to discover relevant cases for their client's case.
United States Congress & Public Policy
These resources provide excellent summaries of United States public policy issues discussed in Congress on a weekly basis. Broader topics are discussed further in the almanac and multi-year resources listed below.
Weekly publication that focuses on activities in Congress. Great resource for staying informed of public policy as well as identifying laws and regulations effecting criminal justice and other topics.
Full-text of key magazines, newsletters, books and directories from the National Journal Group. Focused on government, politics, and public policy. Includes general public policy as well as focused publications on health policy and technology policy. Publications include: The National Journal - weekly journal on politics and government Congress Daily (twice daily covering Congressional activity) Hotline (campaign info) Government Executive (monthly) American Health Line (daily) Technology Daily Almanac of American Politics Poll Track -- polls related to government, politics, & public policy