Overviews of U.S. Law
- Immigration Law: An OverviewSynopsis of current and historical law with links to key statutes and codes. From WEX and the Legal Information Institute at Cornell University Law Scholl.
Key Databases
- Immigration Law and Policy in the U.S.A compilation of the most important documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States. Includes laws, regulations, congressional hearings, CRS reports, and Supreme Court Briefs. From HeinOnline
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOur primary database for all legal research. Covers U.S. statutory, regulatory, and case law.
Key Statutes
A selection of major legislation related to immigration. It is not intended to be a complete list.
- Naturalization acts of 1790 and 1795Among the very first laws passed related to immigration and naturalization
- Immigration and Nationality Act (1952) Pub. L. 82-414, 66 Stat. 163Text of law as originally passed in 1952
- Immigration and Nationality Act (1952)This version incorporates any amendments since the bill was passed in 1952. Kept up to date by the USCIS
- Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986 (IRCA), Pub.L. 99–603, 100 Stat. 3445.Bill summary of the Reagan era reform bill from Congress.gov
More Laws
- Public Laws amending the Immigration and Nationalities ActAn extensive list of the Public Laws that have amended the INA from 1986 to date.
Pending Legislation
- Congress,gov -- ImmigrationCongress.gov is the Library of Congress' main website for tracking legislation. Use this page for tracking legislation in the current congress.
- Congressional This link opens in a new windowPenn State's primary database for tracking Congress. Includes bill tracking, committee hearings, the Congressional Record and more.
Executive Actions
Obama Administration
- Deferred Action on Childhood Arrivals (DACA) -- Memo from Department of Homeland Security (DACA)Exercising Proset¢orial Discretion with Respect to Individuals Who Came to thei.United States as Children. June 2012
- The DACA and DAPA Deferred Action Initiatives: Frequently Asked QuestionsPrepared by the non-partisan Congressional Research Service, this paper answers many questions about the programs in an easily understandable manner.
- U.S. v Texas (2016)In a 4-4 split decision in June 2016 the Supreme Court allowed an injunction from Texas blocking deferred action programs to remain in place. SCOTUSBlog has the analysis, the opinion and supporting briefs.
- What You Should Know About the Texas Decision on ImmigrationConcise outline of the Texas decision and its implications for the DACA and DAPA programs. From Penn State Law.
Trump Administration
- Summary of EO 13767Summary of the Executive Order on “The Wall” or “Border Security and Immigration Enforcement Improvements” Prepared by the Immigration Rights Clinic at Penn State Law School.
_________________
- Summary of EO 13768--prepared by The Immigrant Rights Clinic at the Penn State School of LawA concise summary of key point in the EO
_________________ - Executive Order 13769—Protecting the Nation From Foreign Terrorist Entry Into the United StatesSigned on Jan 27, 2017. Challenged in several Federal District Courts. A Temporary Restraining Order from the 9th Circuit halted implementation of this on Feb 3rd
- Executive Order 13780--Protecting the Nation from Foreign Terrorist Entry into the United StatesSigned March 6, 2017. Revokes EO 13769 and attempts to address issues outlined in District Court cases.Has been blocked by courts in Hawaii and Maryland.
- International Refugee Assistance Project v. TrumpFourth Circuit Court of Appeals Opinion 5/25/17
- Sarsour v. Trump -- Memorandum OpinionOpinion upholding EO 13780. From the Eastern District of Maryland.
List of court cases filed against Trump EOs
- Litigation Documents & Resources Related to Trump Executive Order on ImmigrationIn addition to the opinions cited above Lawfare Blog has an extensive list of ongoing cases as well as briefs and supporting documents filed with the courts.
Regulations and Policies
- USCIS Federal Register AnnouncementsNew regulations are first announced in the Federal Register. This page tracks any new rules promulgated.
- Visa Information--from the Dept. of StateBasic background on the types of visas available for travel and work in the U.S.
Court Cases
- Immigration Law: Key Supreme Court CasesSummaries and links to the opinions on immigration law (not specific to the travel ban)
List of court cases filed against Trump EOs
The following is a list of a few of the major cases brought in relation to the Trump travel ban.
- Litigation Documents & Resources Related to Trump Executive Order on ImmigrationIn addition to the opinions cited above Lawfare Blog has an extensive list of ongoing cases as well as briefs and supporting documents filed with the courts. While this is not always up to date it is one of the more complete listing of cases with supporting briefs..
- International Refugee Assistance Project v. TrumpFourth Circuit Court of Appeals Opinion 5/25/17
- Trump v. International Refugee Assistance Project (Supreme Court)Supreme Court order over ruling (in part) Ninth Circuit opinion and reinstating parts of the Travel Ban. June 26, 2017.
- State of Hawaii, et al v. Donald Trump, et alAppeal of Hawaii District Court restraining order
Key agencies
- Department of Homeland SecurityUmbrella department for many agencies that regulate immigration services.
- Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)" ... enforces federal laws governing border control, customs, trade and immigration..."
- Executive Office of Immigration Review (U. S. Dept of Justice)EOIR is responsible for adjudicating immigration cases.
State Law related to immigration and refugees
- Immigration (from NCSL)The National Conference of State Legislators (NCLS) has extensive information on state legislation related to immigrants including a searchable database.