The best way to detect if a news story sounds fishy is by staying current with the news and reading it regularly.
Of course, just because something is in a library database does not make it 100% reliable, but your odds of finding credible sources are much better than by relying solely on unevaluated Internet resources.
Penn State faculty, staff, and students have access to The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal at no cost through the Student News Readership Program. To take advantage of this program, you must register using your Penn State email.
Provides a global perspective on the world's events and news and is the most convenient and complete way to read all your favorite newspapers on one site.
PressReader provides a global perspective on the World's events and news and is the most convenient and complete way to read all your favorite newspapers on one site. Users will gain access to newspapers from within the library, from home and around the world on the day they are published. Researchers will find convenient searching, a traditional 2-page newspaper view, table of contents, article jumps (linking article sections) and easy to read text views. PressDisplay can also provide translations into ten major foreign languages.
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Many local Pennsylvania newspapers are included here, as well as limited streaming video.
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Also includes limited streaming video.
The University Libraries provide access to many newspaper titles in print, electronic, and microfilm formats. Use NewsFinder to locate newspapers in any format and location within the University Libraries online and physical collections.
The University Libraries provide access to many newspaper titles in print, electronic, and microfilm formats. Use NewsFinder to locate newspapers in any format and location within the University Libraries collections.