"The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2015 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents..."
A large archive of data used by social scientist. Includes numerous data sets on terrorism and armed conflicts. Penn State users must register to download the data.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is a membership-based, non-profit data archive located at the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan. It serves member colleges and universities in the United States and abroad by providing: Access to the world's largest archive of computerized social science data, Training facilities for the study of quantitative social analysis techniques, Resources for social scientists using advanced computer technologies. PSU users get access to ICPSR by creating an individual account using their PSU e-mail ID. This is what identifies them as a PSU affiliate. We do not have IP access. Go to: http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/ICPSR/index.jsp - See login at top left. Note: occasionally you will need to login using a computer on campus to validate that you are still a PSU affiliate.
Covers inter and intra state conflicts. Gives historical background, timelines, and info on fatalities.
Covers international and internal conflicts, as well as terrorism. It provides an interactive source of information on 70 armed conflicts including terrorism, refugees, and returnees, Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), weapons used and their flows, fatalities, costs ($US), historical backgrounds, annual updates and timelines. Users can generate reports and download data as well as browse through year-by-year analyses and fact sheets online.
Includes a Domestic Conflict Event Data set updated to 2015. Includes: Assassinations,General Strikes, Guerrilla Warfare, Major Government Crises,Purges, Riots, Revolutions, Anti-government Demonstrations
Public Opinion Data
Polling data can measure the level of concern for terrorism. Data is available for both foreign countries and the U.S. Links with the open lock are freely available to anyone.
allows you to search for polling questions across time and polling organizations
A comprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as ABC News, CBS News, Fox News, The Gallup Organization, Los Angeles Times, National Opinion Research Center, NBC News, New York Times, Princeton Survey Research Associates, the Program on International Policy Attitudes at the University of Maryland, USA Today and The Washington Post. iPOLL is organized at the question-level providing the tools to sift through 350,000 questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.
Indexes statistical publications from state, federal and international organizations. Includes full text, PDFs of tables, and some downloadble excel tables
Statistical Universe is a powerful index to statistics and data contained in federal agency government publications. It duplicates all American Statistics Index (ASI) abstract and index records (with monthly updates). In addition, it also links to 800 full-text documents published since 1994 and stored on LEXIS®-NEXIS®, and links to 2,000 publications on federal agency Web sites. The University Library owns most of these collections in paper or microfiche format that do not contain full-text links. ASK for assistance locating information at any University Library Service Desk. The abstracts of all publications covered by ASI in 1996-97 include active links to agency Web sites where the full-texts can be accessed. The primary purpose of these links is to supplement the coverage of Statistical Universe as its full-text coverage expands. The links also enable users to explore an agency's Web site.