This guide describe access to a selection of legal materials available through the Libraries' subscription to Westlaw Next. To access the database you must visit one of the Libraries across the Penn State System.
Westlaw Campus is available to all Penn State faculty, staff and students for both on campus and remote access. It can be accessed through the link below, Library Research Guides, or from the Databases A-Z listing.
NOTE: if you are having difficulty accessing Westlaw remotely please install and use the VPN. Choose LIAS-VPN to connect
A comprehensive database of legal materials including federal and state statutes, codes, regulations, and case law materials. Also includes some limited international materials e.g. European Union law. This subscription does NOT include the Business or News portions of Westlaw Campus.
Thomson Reuters Westlaw Campus Research - Law is a comprehensive database of resources for researching U.S. Law. It includes primary sources including case law, statutes and regulations at the federal and state levels as well as secondary sources e.g. American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence, and over 800 law reviews.
Detailed information on how to search effectively in Westlaw Campus
About Westlaw Campus
Westlaw Campus has a broad selection of federal and state statutes, regulations, and case law and replaces many of the the print subscriptions previously available in the University Libraries University Park collections. It is designed for the academic market and is not the full Westlaw database available to law schools.
Highlights of the collection include
American Law Reports
West's Pennsylvania Practice
Goodrich Amram (forms)
Select PA law journals
Current Statutes from all 50 sates
PA Legislative Service (recently passed acts not yet included in Purdon's)
PA Court Rules (Civil and Evidence)
U.S. Code Annotated
U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News -- statutes with corresponding congressional reports.
Code of Federal Regulations
Federal case law -- a comprehensive collection
State cases from all 50 states including all PA state case decisions (Supreme Court, Commonwealth Court, Superior Court, Court of Common Pleas
PA administrative decisions (e.g. Attorney General)