Primary sources are created around the time of an event, or by someone who witnessed the event. Examples include newspapers, letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, etc...
Mostly letters written or received by prisoners, but also included are receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.
This collection consists of items originating from prisoners held in German concentration camps, internment and transit camps, Gestapo prisons, and POW camps, during and just prior to World War II. Most of the materials are letters written or received by prisoners, but also included are receipts for parcels, money orders and personal effects; paper currency; and realia, including Star of David badges that Jews were forced to wear.
170 German-language books and pamphlets, mostly from the 1920s and 1930s and many are directly connected with Nazi groups.
170 German-language books and pamphlets. Most of the writings date from the 1920s and 1930s and many are directly connected with Nazi groups. The works are principally anti-Semitic, but include writings on other groups as well, including Jehovah’s Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons.
Contains original manuscript materials, rare books and printed materials documenting the Jewish experience in America. Includes responses to the Holocaust and efforts to aid Jewish refugees.
Contains original manuscript materials from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Provides access to six major organisational collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers that document the Jewish experience in America. Personal collections include letters, scrapbooks, autobiographies, notebooks and other materials. Organizational papers document the activities of a variety of Jewish social and philanthropic groups. In addition to manuscript collections, rare printed books and pamphlets from the Soble and Rosenbach collections at the American Jewish Historical Society are also included.
Materials from a prominent member of the underground resistance.
A Jewish communist, Diamant was a committed member of the underground resistance during World War II. On more than one occasion he was offered safe passage to England but chose instead to remain in France. After the war he worked initially with the UJRE (l'Union des Juifs pour la Résistance et l'Entraide) and devoted himself to documenting the Jewish resistance by collecting original documents and writing and publishing extensively on the subject. Jewish Underground Resistance includes a wide range of materials: Documents in Yiddish: Leaflets and Internal Documents Documents of Jewish Resistance Groups and other Groups; Miscellaneous or Unidentified Groups during the Occupation; Miscelleaneous or Unidentified Groups after the Occupation; Documents Relating to Collaboration Documents on Prisons, Prisoners and Deportées; French Leaflefts: Jews and Jewish Underground Groups; Incomplete and Unidentified Documents.
Original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers. Documents the creation of the state of Israel among other topics.
Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970 offers a range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.
This collection reproduces the Tagebuch or journal of Dr. Hans Frank (1900-1946), the Governor-General of German-occupied Poland from October 1939 until early 1945.
Reproduces the Tagebuch or daily journal of Dr. Hans Frank (1900-1946), the Governor-General of German-occupied Poland from October 1939 until early 1945. Entries are in chronological order and primarily focus on administrative matters rather than personal reflections.
Newspapers and periodicals; broadsides; leaflets; and books and pamphlets and other documents produced by or relating to the underground resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy
This collection consists of newspapers and periodicals; broadsides; leaflets; and books and pamphlets and other documents produced by or relating to the underground resistance in France, Belgium, Holland, and Italy during World War II.
Primary source documents on the repatriation and emigration of Displaced Persons and survivors of the Holocaust and World War II
This online archive delivers essential primary sources for the study and understanding of the challenges facing the European peoples in the aftermath of World War II. It covers the politics and administration of the post war refugee crisis in Europe well as the day-to-day survival of the refugees themselves.
Reports, letters, cables, and other documents on efforts to block the transfer of looted assets out of the country and the restoration of looted artworks to their rightful owners.
SAFEHAVEN was the code name of a U.S.-led effort to block the transfer of German assets out of the country in the later years of World War II. The SAFEHAVEN project also identified and restored looted artworks to their rightful owners. The database contains reports, letters, cables, and other documents referring to SAFEHAVEN-related topics. The collection supports research in Holocaust Studies, European Studies, World War II Studies, Art History, Military History, Diplomatic History, Law and Legal History, and Political Science.
Rare historical material from The Wiener Library, London, providing documentary evidence from many perspectives
This online, easily searchable rare historical material from The Wiener Library, London, provides documentary evidence for the study of Nazi Germany and its crimes against the Jewish people from many perspectives. The Wiener Library is the oldest institution in the world established to document the Nazi regime and its crimes against the Jewish people. The material in this online archive is organized into four sections: original Nazi propaganda materials, eyewitness accounts, photographic material, and Wiener Library publications.
Includes telegrams, dispatches and letters between the State Department, U.S. government agencies, the Vatican and the Italian government. Focuses on political affairs, Jews, refugee and relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank.
U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950 offers rare primary sources tied to Myron Taylor, appointed as the president's representative to the Vatican. The content includes telegrams, dispatches and letters between Taylor and his staff, the State Department, U.S. government agencies, the Vatican and the Italian government.Vital materials focus on political affairs, Jews, refugee and relief activities, German-owned property in Rome, property rights, and the Vatican Bank.This collection consists of the State Department's records of the personal representative of the President to Pope Pius XII, including the Decimal File, Confidential Correspondence File and the Airgrams File.
Interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides
The Visual History Archive® is the Institute’s collection of audiovisual interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides. It is the reason USC Shoah Foundation was originally founded, and continues to be the basis for its educational and scholarly programs today.
Newspapers collected by the British library during the war. Offers a full view of conditions in occupied France.
"La France pendant la guerre 1939-1945: journaux de la Resistance et de VichyThe complete French holdings of the British Library - acquired through intelligence, clandestine and neutral sources - offers as full a view of life in France during World War II as was possible at the time.The British Library holds many resistance titles never acquired by the Bibliothèque Nationale because France was under German occupation. Digitized and full-text searchable, Voices from Wartime France 1939-1945 constitutes the sum of the French press that reached Britain during the German Occupation of France from 1940-44."