The University Libraries subscribes to over 3,000 databases and online resources available on campus and from home using your Access ID and password. Some databases relevant to this course include:
AGRICOLA contains references for journal articles, book chapters, audiovisuals, and other agricultural resources.
AGRICOLA contains references for books, journal articles, book chapters, audiovisuals, and other agricultural resources. These resources encompass all aspects of agriculture such as animal and veterinary sciences including poultry and dairy, entomology, plant sciences such as horticulture, crop and soil science, and plant pathology, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, rural and community development, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, food science, agricultural engineering, and earth and environmental sciences. Also indexes publications from USDA, State Experiment Stations, and State Extension Services.
Access to the full text of all articles and technical papers published since 1963 by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
This resource provides access to the full text of all articles and technical papers published since 1963 by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
Recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural Engineers including full text access to journals, standards, technical reports, conference proceedings, and monographs.
All of the recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers including full text access to journals, standards, technical reports, conference proceedings, and monographs.
Biological Abstracts is the premier database for the biological sciences.
Biological Abstracts is the premier database for the biological sciences. BA monitors more than 5,000 international journals to ensure that virtually every life science topic is covered, including agriculture, biochemistry, biology, botany, molecular biology, biotechnology, physiology, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology, and ecology and the environment. Coverage is from 1926 to date.
One of two major databases for nursing, providing references to over 1,800 nursing and allied health journal articles.
One of two major databases for nursing, providing references to over 1,800 nursing and allied health journal articles in addition to citations for book chapters, nursing dissertations, association publications, educational software, conference proceedings and selected full-text for state nursing journal articles, legal cases, patient education material, research instruments, standards of practice, critical paths, nurse practice acts, drugs, clinical innovations and government publications. References for alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and health sciences librarianship are also included. Coverage: 1982 - Present. Updates: Monthly.
Comprehensive engineering (Compendex) and Information Technology (Inspec) database.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
Full text of all IEEE & IET conference papers, and standards published since 1988 and all IEEE journals since 1884 & IET journals since 1988.
IEEE Xplore contains the full text of all IEEE & IET conference papers, and standards published since 1988 and all IEEE journals since 1884 & IET journals since 1988. The material can be accessed through a searchable database or by browsing. 100 concurrent users. Inactive users timeout after 15 minutes. NOTE: We do not have access to the following IEEE content: IEEE Draft Standards, IEEE eLearning Library and IEEE English for Engineering. Additionally, we do not have access to various 3rd party content hosted by IEEE.
Searchable NASA Technical Reports collection, NASA Technical Reports collection and NIX collection of images, movies, and videos.
Includes the full text and bibliographic records of selected unclassified, publicly available NASA-sponsored technical reports. Coverage: NACA reports 1915-1958, NASA reports since 1958.
Preeminent resource for accessing the latest US government sponsored research, and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering and business related information
NTRL is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest US government sponsored research, and worldwide scientific, technical, and engineering information.
Multi-society database of materials related to the oil and gas production industry.
OnePetro is a multi-society database of materials related to the oil and gas production industry. It includes materials related to rock mechanics, corrosion, and piplines as well as papers from the Offshore Technology Conference, World Petroleum Congress, and NACE Conferences. Penn State users have access to the full text of the Society of Petroleum Engineers technical papers and journals through this resource.
A full text database subset of CINAHL, including only 300 full-text journals that are licensed to ProQuest.
A full text database subset of CINAHL, including only 300 full-text journals that are licensed to ProQuest. Coverage is typically from 1996, with a few titles prior to that date.
Contains research articles for those working in health fields.
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/about/. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
Contains transportation related technical reports and access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
TRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.