Historical Collections and Labor Archives (HCLA) is a collecting unit within the Eberly Family Special Collections Library. HCLA collects primary sources documenting the history of Pennsylvania and U.S. industrial society.
This collection contains personal correspondence, photographs, speeches, plaques, scrapbooks and newspaper clippings concerning Abel's tenure with the United Steelworkers of America, in particular, the USWA constitutional conventions and Abel's retirement as USWA president in 1977.
Bernstein was an international labor leader and educator, who served the Steel Workers Organizing Committee ( 1936-1941), United Steelworkers of America (1946-1972), in part as the Director of the International Affairs Department; and the United Mine Workers (1972-1973). The collection contains correspondence, subject files, diaries, labor photographs, postcards, 7 German films concerning the Nurnberg trials, and other memorabilia from his international travels.
Golden was a labor leader, educator, theorist, and vice president of the United Steelworkers of America. This collection includes personal and family correspondence, published and unpublished writings, reports, speeches, clippings, booklets, pamphlets, and collective bargaining agreements.
McDonald was an officer of the United Steelworkers of America. This collection consists of correspondence and related materials about agreements, arbitration, labor-management policy elections, and conventions of the Steelworkers Organizing Committee (SWOC) and other unions' organizing committees.
Mitch (1881 to 1974) was an official in the United Mine Workers (1915-1946) and Southern Director of the Steel Workers Organizing Committee (SWOC).The papers consist of correspondence and publications pertaining to the United Mine Workers and other labor organizations, and two photographs of Mitch.
Ruttenberg served as the research director for the Steel Workers Organizing Committee (SWOC) and the United Steelworkers of America, as a member of the U.S. War Production Board, and with the Portsmouth Steel Company. This collection consists of correspondence, memoranda, pamphlets, bulletins, drafts and typescripts of books and articles, 15 negatives, and clippings generated and collected by Ruttenberg.
We also have materials from other prominent individuals in the labor movement not listed here, too. we aren't able to include a comprehensive list, so we recommend that you use the search function to discover collections not listed here.