Library Guides: Image Databases: Digital Image Collections

Digital Image Collections

The University Libraries have many Digital Collections. They cover a wide range of subject areas such as agriculture, forestry, literature and University history as well as a wide range of material types such as exhibits, images, maps and yearbooks. The collections can be browsed by Title, Subject or Material Type. Many collections are open to all, but some are restricted to Penn State users only.

Digital Collections
University Libraries' Digital Collections main collections page
Art History Department Visual Resource Collection
A growing collection of more than 25,000 images documenting the history of painting, sculpture, architecture, and other visual arts from prehistoric times to the present. These images were chosen from Penn State’s Visual Resource Centre's collection of digital images and slides. Access is Penn State only.
Central Pennsylvania Architecture and Landscape Architecture
A growing collection containing over 1,000 images focusing on the buildings and landscape of central Pennsylvania. These pictures have been selected and photographed by experts in the unique architecture and landscapes of our region. Access to all for educational uses.
Palmer Museum of Art Collections
Descriptions and images of more than 7,000 images in the permanent collection of the Palmer Art Museum at Penn State, including American and European paintings, drawings, photographs, prints, and sculpture.
Worldwide Building and Landscape Pictures
Also a growing collection, now more than 26,000 images of historic and contemporary architecture and landscape design. These pictures have been gathered for Penn State users from a variety of sources: licensed professional photography, original photography provided by university faculty, and some copies from books and similar sources. Access is Penn State only.