A million images of works of art and other artifacts of visual culture, intended to support teaching, research and learning in visual culture and related fields. Access is Penn State only.
The ARTstor Digital Library is an image database featuring works of art and other cultural heritage from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. The library of 2 million images is constantly growing. All images are accompanied by extensive metadata and are rights-cleared for specified educational uses.
A growing collection of more than 25,000 images documenting the history of painting, sculpture, architecture, and other visual arts from prehistoric times to the present. These images were chosen from Penn State’s Visual Resource Centre's collection of digital images and slides. Access is Penn State only.
A specialized database for locating specific themes in medieval art. Images are available for a large portion of the records. Access is Penn State only.
A descriptive and bibliographic index of thematic and iconographic content of early Christian and medieval art from apostolic times to 1400 A.D. The online database contains all of the works electronically processed for the print version of the index at Princeton University since 1991 (over 23,000 work of art records as of June 2002), including a growing number of images and bibliographic entries covering iconography, art history, archaeology, and classical and religious studies.
An illustrated encyclopedia of art and art history. Access is Penn State only.
Oxford Art Online combines several key encyclopedias and dictionaries important for the history of art and architecture. Together these provide the largest and most authoritative list of biographies of artists in English, as well as an excellent collection of scholarly encyclopedia articles on important topics in the visual arts. Included are Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and others.
Descriptions and images of more than 7,000 images in the permanent collection of the Palmer Art Museum at Penn State, including American and European paintings, drawings, photographs, prints, and sculpture.