This is the site for information and maps on the latest earthquakes to occur on the globe. It features lists of the largest, deadliest, and costliest earthquakes, an interactive database that produces customized reports and much more.
IRIS is a university research consortium that collects and distributes seismic data. A clickable epicenter map supplies information on events that have occurred in the last 30 days. Detailed event specific data files and maps are available via the IRIS SPYDER database for events since October 1996.
This site offers exceptional information on current volcanic activity, remote sensing images of volcanoes and links to other volcano related Web sites. The MTU coverage includes location/geological setting, topographic maps and air photos, meteorology, type of edifice, petrology, eruption history, bibliography and images for indexed volcanoes.
The U.S. Geological Survey has a series of regional volcano observatories in the Pacific Rim which are excellent for locating regional volcanic information. Make sure to look at the observatory locations, including the Cascades Volcano Observatory for volcanoes in the Cascade Range including extensive information on Mt. St. Helen's, the Alaska Volcano Observatory for volcanoes along the Aleutian arc, and the Hawaiian Volcano Observatory for Hawaiian arc volcanoes.
There are numerous sites about volcanoes on the Web. A few others of note include:
This site provides current conditions and avalanche bulletins for mountainous regions all over the world as well as an incident report table for the current season that includes location, fatalities, activity that sparked the event, and more. There are also numerous statistics and an archive of eye-witness accounts and reports.
Maintained by the American Association of Avalanche Professionals, this site contains extensive information on current and past avalanche seasons, detailed accident reports and a photo library of avalanche events.