Penn State's copyright page to learn more about copyright and how it applies to you.
There are plenty of resources that provide access to re-usable or copyright-free materials. Consider these video, music, and image sites — many of which feature content licensed for re-use under Creative Commons:
average of 800 state, regional, national and international photos are added daily
An average of 800 state, regional, national and international photos are added daily to the AP Photo Archives. After a year, approximately 200 of the best daily photos are retained permanently. The Photo Archive's historical collection continues to grow, featuring images from significant news and features events of the 20th century. The earliest photograph available is a photograph of Abraham Lincoln taken in 1844. Permitted uses of these images include: 1. printing copies for educational and research use; 2. creating PowerPoint presentations, slides, and multimedia presentations when usage is confined to the licensed institution; 3. posting on a secure web site available only to authorized users; 4.e-mailing single images to an individual e-mail recipient.
more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN,
The Television News Archive collection at Vanderbilt University is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The collection holds more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001. Material in the archive can be identified for use through our TV-NewsSearch Database. In addition, through its detailed content related to news events, this resource also serves as a unique reference tool for studying historical and political events. Users will have the ability to view online video from the Archive's collection of CNN material. if they have the RealOne media player from RealNetworks. This software can be obtained from the Real Networks website.
Provides access to NBC's video archive, NBC News, Today Show, sports and 26 subject collections.
Provides access to NBC's video archive, NBC News, Today Show, sports and 26 subject collections. Researchers may download playlists and video to insert in course-related materials. Partner content from Washington Post and others.