Where did your family live when the decennial censuses were taken? Do you have enlisted family members in your family's past? Are their records of their immigration to the US? Discover answers to these questions using Ancestry (Library Edition).
With more than 1.5 billion names in over 4,000 databases, Ancestry Library Edition includes records from the United States, UK, and Canadian censuses, beginning in the 18th and 19th century; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. These collections are continuously expanding, with new content added every business day.
Click "Sign In" and "sign up" to get started creating your family tree. Site will connect you to freely-available records with "hints." Otherwise, use what you learned from the library's subscription to Ancestry Library Edition (link above) to fill in your family tree. Use the print icon to save your family tree to share in your presentation.
Search for early mentions of your ancestors as the settle west of the Alleghenies.
A complete digital archive of the Post-Gazette one of the earliest newspapers west of the Alleghenies. Includes news stories, editorials, advertisements, illustrations and other content. The Post-Gazette offers coverage of the U.S. westward expansion, the industrial revolution—from coal mining to the rise of the steel industry and notable figures such as Andrew Carnegie. Henry Clay Fricke. Andrew Mellon. and H.J. Heinz. The Post-Gazette provides researchers a valuable regional perspective on international, national and local news.
Search Pennsylvania newspapers and selected others
Primarily 19th and 20th centuries
Many newspapers from small and medium-sized cities
NewspaperARCHIVE is a database of newspaper page images from Pennsylvania, New York and Ohio, with a small number of titles from other states. Searches are automatically limited to the content Penn State has access to. NewspaperARCHIVE is particularly good for accessing historical newspapers from smaller and medium-sized cities and towns across the Commonwealth (e.g., Altoona, Dubois, Gettysburg), as well as NY and Ohio. The text is fully searchable, but there are gaps in coverage for many titles.