GIS Specialist
Tara Anthony
she/her/hers
Contact:
1A Central Pattee Library
814-863-5753
Subjects: Campus: University Park, Maps
Donald W. Hamer Center for Maps and Geospatial Information
Databases
- SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThis database has the full text of SPIE publications from the 1990s onward. SPIE is the International Society for Optics and Photonics and has many articles related to remote sensing, particularly instrumentation. E-books are also included.
- Compendex (Ei Village 2) This link opens in a new windowThis database indexes the engineering literature from 1884 onwards.
- GIS Bibliography (ESRI)Indexes references to geographic information systems, science, and technology from journal articles, conference papers, books, and reports. Includes over 8,000 references on remote sensing.
- Canada Centre for Remote SensingResources on research areas, remote sensing publications, and educational resources.
Three of the top peer-reviewed remote sensing journals by impact factor are:
- Remote Sensing of EnvironmentServes the remote sensing community with the publication of results on theory, science, applications and technology of remote sensing of Earth resources and environment
- ISPRS Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote SensingProvides a channel of communication for scientists and professionals in all countries working in the many disciplines that employ photogrammetry, remote sensing, spatial information systems, computer vision, and related fields
- International Journal of Applied Earth Observation and GeoinformationPublishes original papers that apply earth observation data to inventarisation and management of natural resources and the environment
Reference Books
- Introduction to remote sensing [online].Campbell, James B. Guilford Press, 2011.
Includes bibliographical references and index. - Remote Sensing [online].Siamak Khorram, Stacy A.C. Nelson, Frank H. Koch, Cynthia F. van der Wiele. Springer, 2012.
Information on image classification techniques and image registration, data integration, and data fusion techniques - Sage Handbook of Remote sensingTimothy A. Warner, M. Duane Nellis, and Giles M. Foody. SAGE, 2009.
Includes bibliographical references and index - Manual of airborne topographic LIDARMichael S. Renslow. American Society for Photogrammetry Remote Sensing, 2012.
Includes bibliographical references and index
Other Resources
- GEOG 482: The Nature of Geographic InformationSee Chapter 8 for introductory information on remote sensing.
- ASPRS Guide to historic land imaging satellitesThe Imaging & Geospatial Information Society published a guide in 2008 to all civil land imaging satellites with resolutions equal to or better than 56 meters.
- Union of Concerned Scientists Satellite DatabaseThe Union of Concerned Scientists publishes a database updated quarterly that contains information on over 900 military and commercial satellites. For each satellite the database includes the name of satellite, country of owner/operator, purpose, type of orbit, launch mass, date of launch, expected lifetime, contractor, and comments.
On the Shelf
Subject headings to use when searching:
Remote sensing
Aerial photogrammetry
Aerospace telemetry
Aerial photography
Aerial videography
Artificial satellites in remote sensing
Call numbers to browse on our shelves:
G70.39-G70.6 Remote Sensing
TA593 Computer Graphics
TL694.T35 Aerospace Telemetry
TK6575 Radar
TR755 Infrared Photography
TK7882.E2 Electronic Surveillance