Library Guides: Engineering (General): Finding Books and General Resources

Reference Materials

ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Contains extensive engineering and property data for materials of all types.
This resource features extensive engineering and property data for materials of all types. It contains the full-text of several ASM handbooks, including the Metals Handbook and the Engineered Materials Handbook.

ASHRAE Handbook online [electronic resource]
Call Number: TH7201
practical repository of knowledge on the various topics that form the field of heating, ventilation, air-conditioning, and refrigeration

Safari Learning Platform: Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Great place to find current programming books and publications from major publishers in computer science and computer engineering
Safari Academic Edition includes more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences. Includes access to exclusive O’Reilly content and resources from more than 200 other publishers.
Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) This link opens in a new window
Search TRAIL for U.S. government technical reports prior to 1976
TRAIL identifies, acquires, catalogs, and digitizes technical reports issued primarily prior to 1976. TRAIL provides unrestricted access to these digitized technical reports through the TRAIL Search Interface. The mission of TRAIL is to ensure preservation, discoverability, and persistent open access to government technical publications regardless of form or format.
Taylor and Francis ebooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of e-books to use on a variety of topics
Provides full-text access to purchased and various open access Taylor & Francis Ebooks, which include imprints published by Routledge, CRC Press, and Garland Science.

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
the list of what is owned by Penn State Libraries.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

Use the Keyword function and combine terms to search on a topic then use the subject headings from relevant books for additional search terms.
Write down the call number and location for any book you want. If the item is not at your campus use the "I Want It" button to request it.
For electronic books, click the link under the words "online content" to access the full text

You can also find books via

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
Select Book / eBook under the Content Type limits on the left.