Library Guides: Engineering Science and Mechanics: Finding Books

Electronic Book Collections

AccessEngineering
AccessEngineering provides access to interdisciplinary engineering information, as well as tools for analyzing information and assisting with the learning process. Included in the content are eBooks, manuals, and handbooks; graphing tools; material information and calculators; problem sets; videos; and much more.
Knovel E-Books
Knovel eBooks provides access to highly desired handbooks, manuals, some textbooks, and other items in a cohesive fashion. It interacts with Engineering Village to provide seamless moving from journals to books, to providing tools to help use the information found in the eBooks. Examples include online graphing tools, materials information under different conditions, and equations for calculating using your data. Knovel is more than just books.
ScienceDirect
This system provides access to the electronic versions of the Elsevier books that we subscribe to. Currently, the full text collection contains over 1.5 million articles and book chapters from 1995 to present across all fields of science.
SpringerLink
Access to electronic editions of journals and electronic books to which Penn State University Libraries subscribes, published by a company called Springer-Verlag. Covers the fields of chemistry, computer science, economics, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, and physics. Coverage: 1996-present.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Provides full-text access to purchased and various open access Taylor & Francis Ebooks, which include imprints published by Routledge, CRC Press, and Garland Science.
Wiley Online Library
Provides ebooks, journals, and reference works in a variety of areas including engineering.

Suggested Terms/Subject Headings to Search in CAT

Environmental engineering
Image processing
Mechanical engineering
Microelectromechanical devices
Nanotechnology
Optical fiber communication
Optoelectronic devices
Photonics
Production of electric energy or power
Renewable energy sources
Structural engineering
Sustainability
Turbines
Wireless communication systems security measures

Browse Shelves Using These Call Numbers

Understanding Call Numbers Guide

Q300-Q342                 Cybernetics
R856-R857                   Biomedical engineering
TA350                           Mechanics
TA630-TA695             Structural engineering
TC160-TC181             Technical hydraulics
TJ212-TJ225                Control engineering systems
TJ265                            Thermodynamics
TJ782-TJ793                Internal combustion engines
TJ809-TJ812              Solar energy
TK452-TK454.4          Electric circuits, electric networks
TK2000-TK2891           Dynamoelectric machinery including generators, motors, transformers
TK2896-TK2985         Production of electricity by direct energy conversion
TK3001-TK3521         Distribution or transmission of electric power
TK5101-TK6720         Telecommunication (satellites, computer networks, etc.)
TP248.13-TP248.65     Biotechnology

Finding Books in the CAT

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
the list of what is owned by Penn State Libraries.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

Use the Keyword function and combine terms to search on a topic then use the subject headings from relevant books for additional search terms.
Write down the call number and location for any book you want. If the item is not at your campus use the "I Want It" button to request it.
For electronic books, click the link under the words "online content" to access the full text

You can also find books via

LionSearch This link opens in a new window
Select Book / eBook under the Content Type limits on the left.