Offers current, international news and perspectives on a variety of topics and events throughout the world. It brings together an array of sources to explain the historical and contemporary conditions in a wide range of subject areas, including sociology, civics, politics, science, economics, cultural/religious studies, women?s studies, and human rights. Updated daily.
Global information about the environment, energy, and natural resources
GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) is an interdisciplinary resource that offers content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more. It is interactive and current, allowing users to navigate issue, organization and country portals.
This resource has 3 elements: iPOLL (a question and answer databank), Roper Express (datasets from studies), and Hot Topic reports. Note: iPOLL requires a free, individual account to access it--simply use your PSU Access Account.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion back to the 1930s. The archive provides access to their resources through two principle resources:iPOLL allows you to search a database of more then 400,000 questions from surveys. Response frequencies are provided for each question and for some questions simple cross-tabulations are available [these are designated with a RoperExplorer Icon].Roper Express provides searching capablity and access to the code books and raw data files of Over 10,000 US and 8,000 International polls. Note: there are many questions in iPOLL that do not have corresponding data files in Roper Express.
Hundreds of thousands of news photos provided by the Associated Press, with approximately 800 added daily.
An average of 800 state, regional, national and international photos are added daily to the AP Photo Archives. After a year, approximately 200 of the best daily photos are retained permanently. The Photo Archive's historical collection continues to grow, featuring images from significant news and features events of the 20th century. The earliest photograph available is a photograph of Abraham Lincoln taken in 1844. Permitted uses of these images include: 1. printing copies for educational and research use; 2. creating PowerPoint presentations, slides, and multimedia presentations when usage is confined to the licensed institution; 3. posting on a secure web site available only to authorized users; 4.e-mailing single images to an individual e-mail recipient.