access hundreds of newspapers including Pennsylvania newspapers (e.g. Centre Daily Times), plus national and international newspapers
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources -- all in one easy-to-search database with a world map. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Also includes limited streaming video.
provides the full-text of The New York Times, starting with 1851
Includes a digitized image of every backfile issue of The New York Times from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. Searchers can use basic keyword, advanced, guided, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. Or, they can browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition. Search results lists provide bibliographic information, including date, issue, article headline, page number, and byline (where given). Users may choose to display the full page image of any page in any issue.
Page image editions of daily newspapers from around the world
PressReader provides a global perspective on the World's events and news and is the most convenient and complete way to read all your favorite newspapers on one site. Users will gain access to newspapers from within the library, from home and around the world on the day they are published. Researchers will find convenient searching, a traditional 2-page newspaper view, table of contents, article jumps (linking article sections) and easy to read text views. PressDisplay can also provide translations into ten major foreign languages.
The Daily Collegian and its predecessors, serve as an important source for documenting student life at the Pennsylvania State University. Newspapers, and specifically, student-run newspapers, such as the Daily Collegian, often document university life better than any other source--through their pictures, their editorials, and their reports on student activities and interests. The Daily Collegian as we know it today was preceded by: • Free Lance (monthly) -- April 1887 to April 1904 • State Collegian (weekly) -- September 28, 1904 to June 10, 1911 • Penn State Collegian (weekly) -- September 28, 1911 to August 2, 1940 (also had Summer Collegian issues for some dates during this time period). The Historical Digital Collegian provides access to all words, photographs, and advertisements as well as an exact page image of the newspaper page containing the article. For those readers who prefer to see the newspaper intact, each issue can be browsed page-by-page. Thus, the Historical Digital Collegian allows researchers greater flexibility in locating articles of interest and in allowing greater access for those researchers not able to visit The University Libraries.