Beard’s Turfgrass Encyclopedia is the latest body of work from internationally renowned turfgrass agronomist James B Beard. Containing the complete A-to-Z of turfgrass, this quintessential tome encompasses both cultural practice from across a broad range of uses (such as golf courses, lawns, parks, roadsides, and sports fields), as well as the scientific aspects of turfgrasses and their culture (as used by educators, researchers, and scholars). The format provides a comprehensive reference in diagnosing and solving practical problems in the "real world." The range of subjects includes the spectrum of grass species and cultivars, ecology, physiology, soils, microenvironments, cultural practices, entomology, pathology, pest management, and equipment. Beard’s Turfgrass Encyclopedia is applicable worldwide.
This is one of the first books in a new line of EXPANDED compendia, which will cover more diseases, include more high-quality images integrated into the text, and provide updates that ensure effective diagnosis and control of diseases and disorders.
Highly regarded for its thorough coverage of turfgrass science and technology, Turfgrass Management, Ninth Edition, addresses the important features of turfgrass systems, interactions, and management. Rich with illustrations, this book unlocks the mysteries of turf and establishes the role of cultural interventions in achieving specific objectives. Among its many updates, this new edition features expanded coverage of history of turf, anatomy and morphology, climatic adaptation, and soil physics.
Written by two leading experts, this practical tool offers detailed advice on defining, analyzing, and solving today s most common turf problems. Presented in a distinguished case-based approach, it features solutions for environmental, cultural, and pest and pesticide turf problems; coverage of human resources issues; and accessible methods for evaluation, analysis, and synthesis.
This reference handbook provides fully updated chemical, regulatory, health, and safety information on nearly 800 pesticides and other agricultural chemicals. Detailed profiles are provided for each substance listed, including: usage; crop-specific residue limits; hazard ratings for long-term human toxicity; and endocrine disruptor and reproductive toxicity information. Every chemical profile contains references and web links to source information from the EPA, OSHA, the World Health Organization (WHO), and other important advisory and lawmaking bodies. This work is focused on regulated chemicals.
A cooperative resource that offers an extensive searchable database including four peer-reviewed citable journals related to turfgrass science.
The Plant Management Network is a unique cooperative resource for the applied plant sciences. Designed to provide plant science practitioners fast electronic access to proven solutions, the Plant Management Network offers an extensive searchable database comprised of thousands of web-based resource pages from the network's partner universities, companies, and associations.