Librarian
Databases
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowIncludes titles such as American Decades, American Decades: Primary Sources, Dictionary of American History, Encyclopedia of Recreation and Leisure in America, People's Chronology, St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Books in the Catalog
- American eras byPart of a series providing detailed information on the eras of pre-twentieth century America, this volume includes articles covering headlines and headline makers, awards, achievements and other enlightening and entertaining facts on early American civilization.
- The American Years byPublication Date: 1998-10-01A chronology of events, developments, & trends from 1776 to 1997, in the following categories: international, national, transportation, religion, entertainment, education, arts/music, sports, business/industry/inventions, science/medicine, & literature/journalism.
- The Annals of America21 Volumes
- Dictionary of American HistoryThe Learning Guide in volume 10 has a list of entries by time period.
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History byIn more than 200 articles written by scholars and enriched with illustrations, boxed biographies and documentary excerpts from primary sources, American thought and culture is thoroughly explored. The Encyclopedia covers not only historic periods such as the Colonial era and the Reagan era, but also looks at cultural groups such as the working class and cultural institutions and forms such as the university and cinema.
- Everyday life : American social history byA concise edition of Scribner's American Social History, which seeks to examine the essence of American life, ranging in scope from the native peoples of pre-colonial America, to contemporary culture of consumption, providing a picture of four centuries of American people, their lives and works.
- Fashion and Costume in American Popular Culture byProviding a convenient and unique look at fashion and costume literature and how it has developed historically, this volume discusses monographic and reference literature and provides information on periodicals, research centers, and costume museums and collections.
- The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture bySerious study of popular culture is a fairly recent development, yet scholars in nearly all disciplines now engage with the material culture of the masses. The breadth and depth of coverage in this unique multivolume work make it the most useful reference of its kind currently available. Each essay-length chapter covers a single form, genre, or theme of popular culture, such as comic books, computers, fashion, film, magazines, best-selling books, radio, sports, or TV.