Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database - majority of full text titles in PDF format. Searching with topical nouns in the subject terms field will produce the best results.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Education literature. Child Abuse is a subject heading in ERIC, also consider searching: Child Welfare, Child Health, Child Neglect, Family Violence, Sexual Abuse, Victims of Crime
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms.
Psychology literature. Child Abuse is a major subject term in PsycINFO and related subject terms include: Abandonment, Child Abuse Reporting, Child Neglect, Child Welfare, Domestic Violence, Emotional Abuse, Failure to Thrive, Munchausen Syndrome by Proxy, Pedophilia, Physical Abuse, Sexual Abuse, and Verbal Abuse, among others
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.
Abstract/citation or full-text access to the most important English-language legal information including legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, bar association publications, books and selected full-text articles.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books indexes legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, and bar association publications from 1918 to the present. Coverage also includes books and full-text of selected articles from the early 1990s to the present.
Abstract/citation or full-text access to legal or law related journals including major law reviews, specialty law reviews, and bar association journals, including those relating to children’s rights and family law.
Gale Group Infotrac database for research in case law, government regulations, the practice of law, statutes, taxation and international law. Covers all major law reviews, and specialty law and bar association journals.
Full-text access to a wide range of U.S. and foreign legal materials including access to law and law-related periodicals from their inception. (Best source for legal periodicals). Articles located using Index to Legal Periodicals or LegalTrac can in HeinOnline. Relevant journals available in HeinOnline include: ABA Juvenile and Child Welfare Law Reporter, Child and Family Law Quarterly, Child Law Practice, Children’s Legal Rights Journal, Family AdvocateFamily Law Newsletter, Family Law Quarterly, Family Law Review, Family Lawyer, Journal of Child Law, Journal of Juvenile Law.
Hein Online is a full-text research collection offering more than 900 legal journals; federal publications such as the Federal Register, U.S. treaties and agreements, U.S. Supreme Court opinions, federal legislative histories, presidential documents; a collection of legal classics; and Philip C. Jessup International Moot Court competition materials.
Major database for nursing - Using the CINAHL Headings allows child abuse searches to be stronger than simply using a keyword search. Many sub-headings and other search terms may be added.
One of two major databases for nursing, providing references to over 1,800 nursing and allied health journal articles in addition to citations for book chapters, nursing dissertations, association publications, educational software, conference proceedings and selected full-text for state nursing journal articles, legal cases, patient education material, research instruments, standards of practice, critical paths, nurse practice acts, drugs, clinical innovations and government publications. References for alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and health sciences librarianship are also included. Coverage: 1982 - Present. Updates: Monthly.
Biomedical research articles. Child Abuse is a MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) term that has numerous sub-headings and can be linked to other child abuse topics
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/about/. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
Criminology and related disciplines. A child abuse search using the Subject Terms field will likely yield stronger results than using the All Text field.
Provides abstracts of articles from the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, as well as books and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. For each document, an informative summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.
Sociology and related disciplines. Uses a thesaurus for more specific searching and child abuse is a major subject heading. Related subjects include Battered Woman, Child Custody, Child Neglect, Child Sexual Abuse, Emotional Abuse, Family Violence, and Sexual Abuse, among others.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
The journal literature of the social sciences. Using child abuse as a topic search yields nearly 20,000 hits which can be narrowed into categories as family studies, social work, psychiatry, psychology--clinical, law, medicine--legal, and many more.
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences.
Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies and includes the latest scholarship in feminist research, including the area of child abuse and neglect.
This resource provides access to over 232,000 records drawn from ten important Women's Studies databases. Among the databases included in Women's Resources International are Women's Studies Abstracts, one of the premiere Women's Studies indexes; four files from Women Studies Librarian at the University of Wisconsin; Popline Subset on Women; and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography of Mostly English Language Journal Articles from the World Health Organization. Coverage: 1972 to date; citations and abstracts only. Updated semiannually.