Library Guides: Nutrition: Evidence-based Practice Resources

Evidence Based Practice Resources for Nutrition & Dietetics

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Evidence Analysis Library

Target Audience: Nutritionists, Dietitians, Educators.
   Access: Subscription required for full-text access. Trial available. Executive Summaries for the public to
   view .Mobile app provided (NUTRIGUIDES).
   Scope: Evidence based nutrition practice guidelines, systematic reviews and tool-kits. Recommendations for nutrition care for
diagnoses and conditions.
Search by keyword, general categories (diseases/conditions, nutrients, foods, life cycle & nutrition, nutrition care process),
sub-topic, A-Z index.
     Example use scenario: What nutrition history assessment measures are essential to consider when planning for dietary
  interventions in the critically ill patient? Executive Summary Recommendations.

National Guidelines Clearinghouse (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality)

   Target Audience: Clinicians-physicians, nurses, allied healthcare professionals/providers and health system related personnel.
  Access: Available to the public. Mobile apps information.
   Scope: Provides evidence-based clinical practice guidelines, related summaries and companion materials widely available to
   healthcare professionals.
   Search by keyword, topic, organization, guidelines in progress, guideline index, guideline archive. NQMC Measures.
   Try the Advanced Search mode.
  Example use scenario: The Guideline Summary for the diagnosis and management of gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD)
states that the elimination of food that can trigger reflux (chocolate, caffeine) is strongly recommended in the management
   of GERD, but there is a low level of evidence to support this treatment intervention.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based medicine resource.
Cochrane Library is composed of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. It includes peer reviewed systematic reviews and protocols prepared according to the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions or Cochrane Handbook for Diagnostic Test Accuracy Reviews and editorials and supplements. The resource is updated often, with reviews and protocols being published when ready. Cochrane Library also includes the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and published monthly. The Cochrane Library offers Cochrane Clinical Answers, which provide a clinically-focused entry point to research from Cochrane Reviews. Also included are special collections of evidence-based guides related to diagnosing common medical conditions. The federated search feature allows Cochrane Library users to search systematic reviews from McMaster Health Forum's repositories: Health Systems Evidence and Social Systems Evidence.

Target Audience: Healthcare professionals, including physicians, nurses, researchers or funders.Anyone interested in the best
available evidence to make healthcare decisions.
Access: Institutional subscription required.
Scope: A searchable collection of six different databases containing independent reviews and a seventh database with information
about the Cochrane groups.
Search by selecting the appropriate tab at the top of the page: Search tab option with drop down menu to choose keyword etc.,
Medical Terms (MeSH) tab, or use the Browse tab function to view topics,review groups, current reviews...
How to use the Cochrane Library.

Penn State Library EBP Databases

PubMed (Medline) This link opens in a new window
Major biomedical research database from the National Library of Medicine. The "Clinical Queries" option displays a column of citations for systematic reviews, meta-analyses, evidence-based medicine, guidelines, consensus development resources.
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/about/. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Updated daily, provides synthesized EBP resources.
DynaMed is a clinical reference for use at the point-of-care. Contains clinically-organized summaries with recommendations, levels of evidence, and the guidelines behind each recommendation. CMEs available. App Information.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health) This link opens in a new window
Includes EBP nursing and allied resources such as standards of practice, clinical innovations and patient education materials.
One of two major databases for nursing, providing references to over 1,800 nursing and allied health journal articles in addition to citations for book chapters, nursing dissertations, association publications, educational software, conference proceedings and selected full-text for state nursing journal articles, legal cases, patient education material, research instruments, standards of practice, critical paths, nurse practice acts, drugs, clinical innovations and government publications. References for alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and health sciences librarianship are also included. Coverage: 1982 - Present. Updates: Monthly.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides current evidence-based clinical information for nursing practice, education and research at point-of-care.
Nursing Reference Center Plus is a evidence-based point-of-care resource specifically for nurses. Geared toward nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, and nursing faculty, Nursing Reference Center Plus provides access to nursing care plans, nurse management and leadership topics, regulator and risk management topics, nursing skills checklists, video demonstrations of nursing practices, patient education handouts, and continuing education credits. App Information.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A selection of medical texts, drug information, diagnostic materials, patient education resources, USMLE materials.
AccessMedicine® is an online reference and practice resource providing access to more than 85 medical titles, thousands of images, integrated drug database, diagnostic tools, multimedia, patient education, and more, all on a comprehensive search platform and accessible on a mobile device.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database This link opens in a new window
Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports.
Provides the evidence-based resources to inform clinical decision-making at the point of care. The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is the international not-for-profit, research and development arm of the School of Translational Science based within the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Adelaide, South Australia. The Institute collaborates internationally with over 70 entities across the world. The Institute and its collaborating entities promote and support the synthesis, transfer and utilization of evidence through identifying feasible, appropriate, meaningful and effective healthcare practices to assist in the improvement of healthcare outcomes globally.

Penn State Library EBP e-journal subscriptions

Cancer Treatment Reviews
Evidence-based oncology.
BMJ Evidence-Based Nursing
International Journal of Evidence-Based Healthcare
Refereed journal that publishes original scholarship in support of evidence to inform multi-disciplinary health care practice.
CDC: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Public health series for healthcare professionals from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing
A leading peer reviewed journal for evidence-based practice in nursing and healthcare.

Additional Resources

Clinical Practice Guidelines Infobase
Canadian Medical Association evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
e-Lena (e-Library of Evidence for Nutrition Actions
World Health Organization sponsored evidence-informed guidance for nutrition interventions.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)
Evidence, consensus reports to support health care decision making.