A comprehensive full-text database of ancient Chinese texts.
Chinese Ancient Text (CHANT) is a comprehensive full-text database of ancient Chinese texts. The database contains five components: pre-220 AD (the Pre-Han and Han period) traditional texts; 220-581 AD (the Weijin period) traditional texts; excavated texts on wood/bamboo strips and silk (Jianbo); excavated oracular inscriptions on tortoise shells and bones (Jiaguwen); traditional as well as excavated bronze inscriptions (Jinwen).
Penn State subscribes to CAJ series on Literature/History/Philosophy which offers access to full-text articles from more than 600 journals published in China. To achieve best result, please use IE and Chinese input for searching. Coverage: 1994-present.
Provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels.
China Data Online provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels, which include the following databases: Monthly Statistics (1998-current), National Statistics (1949 current), Provincial Statistics (1949 to current), City Statistics (1996-current), County Statistics (1997-current), Industrial Statistics monthly and yearly statistics by industries (1999-current), and Statistical Yearbooks (1981-current) published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China.
A collection of 700,000 titles of Chinese titles published since 1900 with the majority after 1949. It includes 22 areas covering all academic disciplines. Please click the box next to “Trail to ChinaMaxx” in order to search all books in the database. Library has purchased several hundred titles and full-text access is limited to purchased titles only which can be found in the CAT. Faculty and students are welcome to make purchase recommendation. When you make recommendations, please contact the Asian Studies Librarian . 欢迎推荐，并请联系亚洲研究馆员.
Click on More to see titles of the 12 English-language periodicals produced in China.
12 English-language periodicals produced in China. Longer-running publications include the North China Herald (1850-1941), Chinese Repository (1832-1851), Chinese Recorder(1868-1941) and the China Weekly Review (1923-1950). There are also shorter runs of; Canton Times (1919-1920), China Critic (1939-1946), China Monthly Review (1950-1953),China Press (1925-1938), Millard's China National Review (1919-1919), Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921), Peking Daily News (1914-1917), Peking Gazette (1915-1917), Peking Leader (1918-1919), Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921), Shanghai Times (1914-1921), and Weekly Review (1922-1923). In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and ads.
上海图书馆 晚清期刊全文数据库 (1833~1911) 民国期刊全文数据库 (1911-1949)
The Late Qing Periodical Database contains 300 titles and the Republic China Periodical Database contains 25,000 titles. If you are not automatically logged in, please click on login, then IP login (Do not enter user id/password).
Chinese Periodical Full-text Database Shanghai Library (1833-1949)Provides full-text to Shanghai Library periodical collections published between 1833 and 1949. The Late Qing Periodical Database contains 300 titles and the Republic China Periodical Database contains 25,000 titles. If you are not automatically logged in, please click on login, then IP login (Do not enter user id/password).
This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Primary Source Media microfilm collection entitled The Chinese Recorder, 1867-1941.
The Missionary Recorder (later the Chinese Recorder and Missionary Journal) was created to inform Protestant missionaries in China. Distrbuted abroad, the Chinese Recorder provides English language accounts of secular events in China including the crusade against opium, the Boxer Rebellion, the 1911 Revolution, and the Sino-Japanese war. Religious topics such as the founding of missionaries and the growth of the Chinese church are well documented.
Oxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies is a multi- and inter-disciplinary enterprise covering the study of China across all disciplines, developed mainly from two sources: First, a long-standing tradition of Sinology, still strong in Europe, has used philological and literary tools to study mainly the humanities and pre-modern China. Second, from the Second World War, an “area studies” approach has focused on modern China using interdisciplinary methods.
A database of about 7,000 Chinese periodicals publishedfrom late Qing to 1949 in all fields of knowledge: the humanities, socialsciences, sciences, as well as popular journals. Listings per subject areaare provided. One can browse by category of publication. One can searchkeyword in article title, author name, or journal title, in simplified ortraditional Chinese. PDFs can be downloaded. This database complements theChinese Periodical Full-text Database (1833-1949) from Shanghai Library.
Dacheng Minguo Book Database contains more than 50,000 volumes of monograph published between 1911 and 1949. It is full textdisplay, but searchable only by title, author, subjects, publishing dates and publisher. One may also browse by one of the 22 subject categories including humanities, arts, social sciences, natural sciences, medical sciences and more.
The Eastern Miscellany, published by the prestigiousCommercial Press, is a significant chronicle of Republican Era China,covering over 45 years of content (interrupted only in 1942), with more than30,000 articles, 12,000 illustrations and more than 14,000 advertisements.Issued in Shanghai, Changsha, Chongqing, and Hong Kong, the EasternMiscellany was published during a period of extraordinary transition inChinese society, from the collapse of the Qing Dynasty and two millennia ofImperial China, through periods of warlord rule, Japanese invasion, andChinese Civil War. All content is in Chinese, full-text searchable.
Duxiu offers full-text searching to more than 3 million volumes of books on all subjects published in China. Users may view the first 15 pages of the book, and request document delivery (using tushuguan wenxian chuandi) for additional pages to be delivered via email. For a given book, there is a weekly request limit of 50 pages or 20% of the book (whichever is smaller). Please note for periodicals (qikan), Penn State users may conduct full-text searching, but document delivery is not provided.
British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1948.
The six parts of this collection make available all British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980: 1919-1929: Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International; 1930-1937: The Long March, Civil War in China and the Manchurian Crisis ; 1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese War and the Seeds of Communist Victory ; 1949−56:The Communist Revolution ; 1957−1966: The Great Leap Forward ; 1967−1980: The Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution. Due to the unique nature of the relationship between Britain and China, these formerly restricted British government documents, consisting of diplomatic despatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, maps, reports of court cases, biographies of leading personalities, summaries of events and diverse other materials, provide unprecedented levels of detail into one of the most turbulent periods of Chinese history.
This resource can be accessed only on campus, not remotely off campus. To login, please use:
The Grand Secretariat Archives features documents originally collected by the Grand Secretariat of the Qing dynasty. It includes full-text images of 310,000 documents dated from the Ming dynasty to the late Qing dynasty. Note: Please contact email@example.com and copy firstname.lastname@example.org for username/password information. This resource is only available on campus and cannot be accessed from off campus.
The National Population Census of China Database (NPCC) provides access to digitized reports and Excel files of the population census published by China Statistics Press. Currently Penn State has access to data from the 4th (1990), 5th (2000) and 6th (2010) censuses. Included are key publications from China's Five-Years Plan for Economic and Social Development. This resource includes population data of the whole country, 31 provinces and centrally administered municipalities. Bilingual (Chinese and English) display is provided. You may switch between languages at the top left corner.
Description: Contains 567 journals (up to July 2014), NSSD is an open access database, free to all users. New content of many journals by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS) can be accessed through NSSD only. This database currently does not accept organization users, you may establish your personal account.
Military Intelligence Division files relating to China for the period 1918 to 1941
Reproduces the six principal Military Intelligence Division files relating to China for the period 1918 to 1941 (general conditions, political conditions, economic conditions, army, navy, and aeronautics). These reports were filed weekly or monthly detailing conditions in China. Three of the six files document current political, economic, and social events, while the other three focus on the Chinese military.
漢籍全文資料庫。中研院漢籍電子文獻(舊稱漢籍全文資料庫)是迄今最具規模的中文古籍資料庫之一，由中研院各文史研究所共同建立。它包含二十五史、十三經、小說戲曲、漢籍全文資料庫（含二十五史、十三經、諸子、古籍十八種、古籍三十四種、大正新脩大藏經）、上古漢語語料庫、臺灣方志、臺灣檔案、臺灣文獻、文心雕龍、佛經三論、清代經世文編、中華民國史事日誌、新民說、姚際恒著作集、詞話集成、新清史-本紀、樂府詩集、閩南語俗曲唱本「歌仔冊」等。(click on "more" for access instructions)
Created and managed by Academia Sinica, the full-text database contains hundreds of works in Chinese classics, especially related to Chinese history. Major titles include Er shi wu shi (二十五史), Shi san jing (十三經), Taisho Tripitaka (大正新脩大藏經), Tai ping yu lan (太平御覽), Wen xian tong kao（文獻通考). Note: Please choose "Authorized Use" (授權使用); Chinese input required to search.
The full run (1872-1949) of Shanghai-based Shen Bao (formerly transliterated as Shun Pao) was the longest-lasting and probably most influential newspaper in modern China.
The full run (1872-1949) of Shanghai-based Shen Bao (formerly transliterated as Shun Pao) was the longest-lasting and probably most influential newspaper in modern China. Its history is enmeshed in the major Chinese political and cultural developments of the first half of the twentieth century. Searches are allowed only in traditional (not simplified) Chinese.
Full text for the entire set of Siku Quanshu; results can be viewed as text or images. PC (Windows) is required.
Full-text for the entire set of Siku Quanshu. Requires downloading client program and install the software (setup.exe.) at http://www.eastview.com/Online/SikuDownload. Please note that this client program is necessary to access the database, since there is no direct access URL that can be referenced. Other web browsers (e.g. Firefox ore Chorme) will not work, as Siku Quanshu contains archaic Chinese characters not included in the current Unicode standard. Once the client program is installed, users can open the program on their PC (only work with Windows, not MAC), select IP Login, and gain access from a computer with a PSU IP address. VPN information for remote users.
Chinese History: DS700-799.9 (UP location Pattee Library 1)
Chinese Language and Literature: PL1001-3208 (UP location Pattee Library 2A)