Google Scholar is an amazing inter-disciplinary resource for applied demography. You are encourage to explore the advanced research options, citation alerts and Google's Metrics. It can be a powerful tool for known item searching particularly combined with the "Cited by" features.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web. Once you set your institutional preferences, links to full-text, if available at Penn State, should appear.
Academic Search Complete allows you to search over 40 subject indexes at one time. It can be a useful interdisciplinary tool.
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.App information
The publisher Proquest allows you to search 46 subject databases.
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. It contains Full text (word file with no photos or tables) or images (looks like real paper publication) to over 2,000 journals, and Full text to 150+ newspapers. Keywords: news, new york times,current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, english 15,cas100.
international in scope, contains a collection of population, family planning and related reproductive health and development literature.
POPLINE®(POPulation information onLINE) contains citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded by the United States Agency for International Development. (USAID). POPLINE has nearly 370,000 records and has been maintained since 1973 by the K4Health Project (formerly INFO Project). The majority of items are published from 1970 to the present, however, there are selected citations dating back to 1827. The database adds 8,000 records annually.
National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. A rich resource for articles using demographic and population studies methodology.
Try the PubMed tutorial for help using this database.
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/pubmed.html. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature
EconLit provides citations, with selected abstracts, to the international publications on economics since 1969.EconLit covers a broad range of document types, including journal articles, books, dissertations,and articles in collective works. App information
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Recognized by the American Psychological Association as its core resource for literature.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
Significant review articles in journals from a variety of disciplines
Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Scholarly journal archive. Does not always contain the most current research.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization that provides a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and a selection of scholarly books. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. While indexing for JSTOR articles is covered in LionSearch, the full text of the articles is not searched in LionSearch. Search JSTOR itself to ensure detailed coverage of full texts.
Provides a robust ranking of scholarly journals in demography and related subjects.
Journal performance metrics offer a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals delivers quantifiable statistical information based on citation data Helps determine a publication's impact and influence in the global research community Includes journal and category data
Metric of scholarly journals provided by Google for a variety of topics such as: sociology, human migration, public health. Make sure you click on broad categories to discover "subcategories". Great interdisciplinary tool to discover core journals.