Library Guides: ENVST 200: Environmental Studies: Finding Articles

Databases - Best Bets

Start with these databases to find relevant articles

Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 4,400 peer-reviewed and 5,300 full text periodicals
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
"...focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond."
GreenFILE is a database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE will serve as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.
Environmental Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
"...environment literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment" & more.
The Environmental Sciences Collection provides abstracts and references to the environment literature covering all areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, risk assessment, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources from 1967 to the present.

Additional Databases

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Research & background information on a variety of issues, including social, political, & environmental topics. Articles from journals, newspapers, magazines; essays from books; websites; videos, audios; & more.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Keywords: hot topics, current events, social issues, social trends, English 15, CAS 100, background information, general interest, contemporary issues, overviews.
ProQuest (Multiple Databases) This link opens in a new window
a mulit-disciplinary database which includes science & technology
Searches multiple ProQuest products, indexing 5,000+ magazines, journals, and newspapers. Keywords: news, New York Times, current events, contemporary issues, hot topics, English 15, CAS 100.

Finding the Full Text of Articles

Sometimes, the full text of an article won't be available in the database where you find it. Here are some strategies for locating the Full text.

1. Use the Get It! Penn State Button

This button is a short cut that allows you to quickly search through our other databases to find the full text.

2. Search Yourself Using Lion Search

Lion Search is the catch-all search that allows you to search all our resources at once. Search for the article's title to see if we have the full text in our collection - make sure you put it in quotes!

3. Request an Interlibrary Loan

If the "Get It!" button and Lion Search don't come up with the full text - you will see an option to request the full text via Interlibrary Loan. Once you fill out the request, it may take a few days for us to get the full text from another library - you will be notified by your PSU email how to access the full text once it arrives.

Penn State University Libraries

ENVST 200: Environmental Studies

ASK for Help!

Librarian

Databases - Best Bets

Additional Databases

Finding the Full Text of Articles