The Encyclopedia of Actuarial Science presents a timely and comprehensive body of knowledge designed to serve as an essential reference for the actuarial profession and all related business and financial activities, as well as researchers and students in actuarial science and related areas.
The encyclopedia provides an authoritative exposition of both quantitative methods and practical aspects of actuarial science and insurance.
A book which covers the key period in the history of actuarial science from the mid-17th century to the early 19th century. There are reprints of the most important treatises, pamphlets, tables and writings which trace the development of the actuarial industry.
Modern Actuarial Theory and Practice, Second Edition presents an up-to-date, comprehensive overview of UK and international actuarial theory, practice, and modeling. It describes all of the traditional areas of actuarial activity, but in a manner that highlights the fundamental principles of actuarial theory and practice as well as their economic, financial, and statistical foundations.
This handbook provides a single reference source on insurance for professors, researchers, graduate students, regulators, consultants, and practitioners, that reviews the research developments in insurance and its related fields that have occurred since the 1970s.
supplies actuaries with a practical approach to the key concepts and techniques needed on the job; provides the essential methods for using available data to construct models for the frequency and severity of future adverse outcomes.
In this collection of essays published to celebrate the Institute of Actuaries′ 150th Anniversary, leading experts describe how actuarial concepts have contributed to many important social and financial developments, and how these ideas will continue to "make financial sense of the future."
Though the book is primarily introductory, the authors discuss some more advanced topics, including simulation, calculation of risk premiums, credibility theory, estimation of outstanding claim provisions and risk theory. All topics are illustrated by examples drawn from general insurance, and references for further reading are given. Solutions to most of the exercises are included. For the new edition the opportunity has been taken to make minor improvements and corrections throughout the text, to rewrite some sections to improve clarity, and to update the examples and references. A new section dealing with estimation has also been added.
Greg Taylor's book aims to provide a comprehensive, state-of-the-art treatment of loss reserving that reflects contemporary research advances to date. Divided into two parts, the book covers both the conventional techniques widely used in practice, and more specialized loss reserving techniques employing stochastic models.
A special feature of the book is the use throughout of a single real life data set to illustrate the numerical examples and new techniques presented. The data set illustrates most of the difficult situations presented in actuarial practice. This book will meet the needs for a reference work as well as for a textbook on loss reserving.
An examination of the actuarial structure of disability insurance, long-term care insurance, and critical illness coverage, including problems encountered in the design and development of such insurances. The work offers an international perspective, discussing calculation methods used in various countries and reinterpreting them through the framework of multiple state modelling.
The Global Health Observatory theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.
This text provides a much-needed resource on the actuarial foundation of the financing and management of social security pensions. By focusing on the mathematical theory and techniques, it offers a reference for social security actuaries.
The actuarial analysis of social protection schemes is a challenge that requires a delicate balancing act between the demographic, economic, financial, and actuarial fields. Actuarial Practice in Social Security addresses this challenge by providing a practical tool for actuaries to enhance and modernize their social protection systems while still maintaining this important balance. It offers a comprehensive, global picture of actuarial practice in social security and provides concrete examples of work done by actuaries in the field.