A collection of high-quality materials related to the workings of congress and government in general. Of particular interest for this class are:
A reference source for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. The suite includes the online version of --CQ Weekly --CQ Researcher --CQ Congress Collection, --CQ Voting and Elections Collection --CQ Historic Documents Online
Analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy.
CQ Congress Collection is a dynamic research and reference tool allowing historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy.
Find all the documents from Congress including hearings, reports, bills, debates on the floor of Congress, etc. Hearings in particular can be useful to see questions posed by members of congress at hearings on issues of interest to their constituents. As you look at hearings keep in mind that the party in control of the chamber to a large extent controls what hearings are held and who testifies.
Congressional provides access to the best web resources for congressional and legislative information. This includes services available to Penn State Users only, such as Congressional Universe (1789-to date) as well as other free services that provide similar or related information such as Thomas (1993-to date) and GPO Access (1993-to date). The Guided Tour provides a step-by-step approach to congressional and legislative information for users who have never done research of this type before. Updates:Continuous