responsible for administering the Medicare, Medicaid, SCHIP (State Children's Health Insurance Program), HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act), CLIA (Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments), and several other health-related programs.
Track congressional activities and legislation. Find reports from the important committees dealing with health care issues.
Congressional provides access to the best web resources for congressional and legislative information. This includes services available to Penn State Users only, such as Congressional Universe (1789-to date) as well as other free services that provide similar or related information such as Thomas (1993-to date) and GPO Access (1993-to date). The Guided Tour provides a step-by-step approach to congressional and legislative information for users who have never done research of this type before. Updates:Continuous
Find Proposed Rules, Rules, and Notices from the Federal Register. Public Submissions (e.g., comments, citizen petitions, early submissions) and Supporting Materials often associated with regulatory actions can also be found on this site. Use to research current federal rule-making. Use the Federal Register or the CFR [see below] for historical research.
Find cases [and federal statutes] related to health law. Choose State from the menu on the left to find health law cases by state. Choose Statutes to find health law-related statutes.
Selected BNA databases are now available to all Penn State students, faculty, and staff. The BNA Health Law Reporter provides in-depth news and analysis of health law along with applicable statutes and court cases. Updated weekly
in the left-hand menu, expand the Health Care Compliance and Reimbursement to find information under the Health Care Compliance Portfolio and the HIPAA Compliance Portfolio for case law, regulations, and statutes.
CCH Health and Human Resources Network provides federal and state research materials on topics such as labor and employment, pensions, benefits, health care compliance and reimbursement, and safety compliance. Full-text materials include statutes, regulations, agency directives and letters, judicial opinions, and forms.
use the Look up a Legal Case menu to search by case citation, parties [i.e., defendant, plaintiff], or topic].
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Covers many news sources for 20 years. Court cases and statutes from all federal and state jurisdictions are included. Most resources can be searched in full text.