Library Guides: AFR 110N : Introduction to Contemporary Africa: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
an interdisciplinary collection of reference sources. Use your keywords to find articles within encyclopedias and other reference works in the GVRL Collections.
A collection of over 2000 reference resources.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (First Edition) This link opens in a new window
online via ScienceDirect. Use your keywords to find references within this encyclopedia.
First edition. The International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences is the online equivalent of the 24 volume encyclopedia published in 2002. Content is organized around more than 30 primarily interdisciplinary topical areas of active research and significant promise (for example, memory, crime and violence, markets, modernization), combined with the categories: Overarching Topics, Disciplines, Intersecting fields, and Applications. Includes extensive indices, searchable full-text, and embedded electronic reference links.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Presents easy-to-understand information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Countries and their Cultures
A four-volume encyclopedia that focuses on cultures and countries around the world, specifically what is and is not shared culturally by the people who live in a particular country. Entries contain descriptive summaries of the country in question, including demographic, historical, cultural, economic, religious, and political information.
Political Handbook of the World 2022-2023
Background information on the politics of countries and organizations around the world.
Political Handbook of the World 2005-2017
via CQ Press.

Encyclopedias [not available as e-copy]

Catalog (Penn State University Libraries catalog) This link opens in a new window
- use Advanced Search.
- search by keyword, e.g., women in Africa.
- scroll down, change Material Type to Book, Reference to locate encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference works.
This is the online catalog of materials owned by Penn State Libraries. All formats (books, journals, audiovisuals, maps, recordings, etc.) are included. Circulation status for individual items is also provided. Coverage: Presently contains about 7 million records. Updates: Continuous up-to-the-minute as new records are added.

Europa World Year Book
Contains brief background discussion of countries and international organizations, including history, government, politics, etc.. Also provides brief statistical information.
The World Almanac and Book of Facts
find current basic statistics in broad categories.
Political Handbook of the World [print] 1976-2011
back to 1976. Explore a country's government and political history. political parties, and legislatures. Includes key facts and issues current to the edition for the year you are researching.
Political Handbook of the World [print] 1928-1962
great resource for researching historical changes to a country's government.
Nations of the world : a political, economic, and business handbook
includes some basic statistics, key economic indicators, and a business directory.

Evaluating Encyclopedia Articles

What is wrong with using Wikipedia?

Nothing is wrong with using Wikipedia as long as you understand its limitations, particularly as it relates to academic research. Information on Wikipedia is contributed freely by anyone who wants to post information without any consideration for the authority or credibility of the author.

Does this mean that all of the information on Wikipedia is inaccurate? No, it simply means that you need to be more cautious about the information and recognize that this is a dynamic resource that changes overtime. Consequently, it is not good practice to cite Wikipedia entries in academic research, but Wikipedia can be a great resource as you begin to explore a topic, or to settle a bet with your roommate.

What other choices do you have? How do you evaluate encyclopedias?

The University Libraries provide access to many specialized encyclopedias in a variety of fields of study. However, you should also be prepared to evaluate each for their scholarly value. Below are some suggestions of what to look for:

Who is the publisher?
- Typically those published by university presses are considered scholarly (e.g. Oxford, Cambridge, etc...)
- These commercial publishers typically publish academic content: Blackwell, De Gruyter, Elsevier, Gale, Macmillan, Peter Lang, Routledge, Sage, Springer Publishers, Thomson Reuters
Who are the editors of the encyclopedia?
- Usually found in the front cover.
- What are their credentials?
Who are the authors?